A Grief Observed

A Grief Observed


  • Release: 2009-06-09
  • Publisher: Harper Collins
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 112 page
  • ISBN: 9780061949296
GET EBOOK

A classic work on grief, A Grief Observed is C.S. Lewis’s honest reflection on the fundamental issues of life, death, and faith in the midst of loss. Written after his wife’s tragic death as a way of surviving the “mad midnight moments,” A Grief Observed an unflinchingly truthful account of how loss can lead even a stalwart believer to lose all sense of meaning in the universe, and the inspirational tale of how he can possibly regain his bearings.

A Grief Observed

A Grief Observed


  • Release: 2015
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 128 page
  • ISBN: 0571310877
GET EBOOK

In April 1956, C.S. Lewis, author of The Chronicles of Narnia, married Joy Davidman, an American poet with two small children. After four intensely happy years, Davidman died of cancer and Lewis found himself alone again, and inconsolable. In response, he wrote this journal, freely confessing his pain, rage, and struggle to sustain his faith. In it he finds the way back to life. Now a modern classic, A Grief Observed has offered solace and insight to countless readers worldwide. This new edition includes the original text of A Grief Observed alongside specially commissioned responses to the book and its themes from respected contemporary writers and thinkers: Hilary Mantel, Jessica Martin, Jenna Bailey, Rowan Williams, Kate Saunders, Francis Spufford and Maureen Freely.

A Buddhist Grief Observed

A Buddhist Grief Observed


  • Release: 2016-08-09
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 136 page
  • ISBN: 9781614293224
GET EBOOK

Amid the world-shattering pain of loss, what helps? “After the death of his beloved partner from cancer, Newland finds himself asking how effective his long years of Buddhist practice have been in helping him come to terms with overwhelming grief. This finely written book offers a lucid meditation on what it means to practice the Dharma when everything falls apart.” —Stephen Batchelor, author of Buddhism without Beliefs and After Buddhism In the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed, Guy Newland offers this brave record of falling to pieces and then learning to make sense of his pain and grief within his spiritual tradition. Drawing inspiration from all corners of the Buddhist world—from Dogen and the Dalai Lama, to Pema Chödrön and ancient Pali texts—this book reverberates with honesty, kindness, and deep humanity. Newland shows us the power of responding fully and authentically to the death of a loved one. “A sad, beautiful, and necessary book—and a map waiting for many who will need it.” —James Ishmael Ford, author of If You’re Lucky Your Heart Will Break “Guy Newland faces squarely the pain of death and the pain of grief and offers a work of uncommon power, insight, and honesty—and extraordinary compassion.” —Jay L. Garfield, author of Engaging Buddhism

Shepherd s Notes  C S  Lewis s the Problem of Pain

Shepherd s Notes C S Lewis s the Problem of Pain


  • Release: 2017-10
  • Publisher: Holman Reference
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 100 page
  • ISBN: 1462766099
GET EBOOK

Shepherd's notes helps readers better learn the books of the Bible and Christian classic writings in a concise and easy-to-understand format.

A Grace Disguised

A Grace Disguised


  • Release: 1998-01-16
  • Publisher: Zondervan
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 190 page
  • ISBN: 0310219310
GET EBOOK

"The experience of loss does not have to be the defining moment of our lives", writes Gerald Sittser. "Instead, the defining moment can be our response to the loss. It is not what happens to us that matters so much as what happens in us". Sittser knows. A tragic accident introduced him to loss of a magnitude few of us encounter. But this is not a book about one man's sorrow. It's about the grace that can transform us in the midst of sorrow. For those experiencing loss, A Grace Disguised offers a compassionate, deeply affirming message of hope, richness in living, and joy not after the darkness, but even in the midst of it. Now in softcover.

The Cure for Sorrow

The Cure for Sorrow


  • Release: 2020-08
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 184 page
  • ISBN: 1735161209
GET EBOOK

When Jan Richardson unexpectedly lost her husband and creative partner, the singer/songwriter Garrison Doles, she did what she had long known how to do: she wrote blessings. These were no sugar-coated blessings. They minimized none of the pain and bewilderment that came in the wake of a wrenching death. With these blessings, Jan entered, instead, into the depths of the shock, anger, and sorrow. From those depths, she has brought forth words that, with heartbreaking honesty, offer surprising comfort and stunning grace. Those who know loss will find kinship among these pages. In these blessings that move through the anguish of rending into the unexpected shelters of solace and hope, there shimmers a light that helps us see we do not walk alone. From her own path of grief, Jan offers a luminous, unforgettable gift that invites us to know the tenacity of hope and to recognize the presence of love that, as she writes, is "sorrow's most lasting cure."

A Mother s Grief Observed

A Mother s Grief Observed


  • Release: 1997
  • Publisher: Tyndale House Pub
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 154 page
  • ISBN: 0842339957
GET EBOOK

Rebecca Faber learned about grief when her toddler son drowned in the family pool. She offers you her experience in the hope that it can help you is your journey toward a God whose love is indeed stronger than death.

A Year with C  S  Lewis

A Year with C S Lewis


  • Release: 2003-10-21
  • Publisher: Zondervan
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 416 page
  • ISBN: 9780060566166
GET EBOOK

Beloved author C. S. Lewis is our trusted guide in this intimate day-by-day companion offering his distinctive and celebrated wisdom. Amidst the bustle of our daily experience, A Year with C. S. Lewis provides the necessary respite and inspiration to meet the many challenges we face in our lives. Ruminating on such themes as the nature of love, the existence of miracles, overcoming a devastating loss, and discovering a profound faith, Lewis offers unflinchingly honest insight for each day of the year. These daily meditations have been culled from Lewis's celebrated Signature Classics: Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, The Great Divorce, The Problem of Pain, Miracles, and A Grief Observed, as well as from the distinguished works The Weight of Glory and The Abolition of Man. Throughout this elegant daybook the reader will find poignant biographical com-mentary about C. S. Lewis's life that offers a remarkable portrait of Lewis in the context of his work. As each day unfolds, we embark on a path of discovery with a friend by your side. A Year with C. S. Lewis is the perfect com-panion for everyone who cherishes Lewis's timeless words.

A Grief Observed

A Grief Observed


  • Release: 2010-05-09
  • Publisher: Lulu.com
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 108 page
  • ISBN: 9780557381838
GET EBOOK

A Grief Observed is an intensely personal journey through loss, mourning, and ultimately recovery told in emotionally raw yet lushly literate poetry and art.

C  S  Lewis s Mere Christianity

C S Lewis s Mere Christianity


  • Release: 2020-02-25
  • Publisher: Princeton University Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 280 page
  • ISBN: 9780691202471
GET EBOOK

The life and times of C. S. Lewis's modern spiritual classic Mere Christianity, C. S. Lewis's eloquent defense of the Christian faith, originated as a series of BBC radio talks broadcast during the dark days of World War Two. Here is the story of the extraordinary life and afterlife of this influential and inspiring book. George Marsden describes how Lewis gradually went from being an atheist to a committed Anglican—famously converting to Christianity in 1931 after conversing into the night with his friends J. R. R. Tolkien and Hugh Dyson—and how his plainspoken case for Christianity went on to become one of the most beloved spiritual books of all time.