A Grief Observed

A Grief Observed


  • Release: 2012-10-04
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 64 page
  • ISBN: 9780571265794
GET EBOOK

A Grief Observed comprises the reflections of the great scholar and Christian on the death of his wife after only a few short years of marriage. Painfully honest in its dissection of his thoughts and feelings, this is a book that details his paralysing grief, bewilderment and sense of loss in simple and moving prose. Invaluable as an insight into the grieving process just as much as it is as an exploration of religious doubt, A Grief Observed will continue to offer its consoling insights to a huge range of readers, as it has for over fifty years. 'A classic of the genre, a literary answer to the pain of loss.' Robert McCrum

A Grief Observed

A Grief Observed


  • Release: 2009-06-09
  • Publisher: Harper Collins
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 112 page
  • ISBN: 9780061949296
GET EBOOK

A classic work on grief, A Grief Observed is C.S. Lewis’s honest reflection on the fundamental issues of life, death, and faith in the midst of loss. Written after his wife’s tragic death as a way of surviving the “mad midnight moments,” A Grief Observed an unflinchingly truthful account of how loss can lead even a stalwart believer to lose all sense of meaning in the universe, and the inspirational tale of how he can possibly regain his bearings.

Grief Observed

Grief Observed


  • Release: 2001-02-06
  • Publisher: Zondervan
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 112 page
  • ISBN: 9780060652388
GET EBOOK

Written after his wife's tragic death as a way of surviving the "mad midnight moment," A Grief Observed is C.S. Lewis's honest reflection on the fundamental issues of life, death, and faith in the midst of loss. This work contains his concise, genuine reflections on that period: "Nothing will shake a man -- or at any rate a man like me -- out of his merely verbal thinking and his merely notional beliefs. He has to be knocked silly before he comes to his senses. Only torture will bring out the truth. Only under torture does he discover it himself." This is a beautiful and unflinchingly homest record of how even a stalwart believer can lose all sense of meaning in the universe, and how he can gradually regain his bearings.

A Grief Observed

A Grief Observed


  • Release: 2015
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 128 page
  • ISBN: 0571310877
GET EBOOK

In April 1956, C.S. Lewis, author of The Chronicles of Narnia, married Joy Davidman, an American poet with two small children. After four intensely happy years, Davidman died of cancer and Lewis found himself alone again, and inconsolable. In response, he wrote this journal, freely confessing his pain, rage, and struggle to sustain his faith. In it he finds the way back to life. Now a modern classic, A Grief Observed has offered solace and insight to countless readers worldwide. This new edition includes the original text of A Grief Observed alongside specially commissioned responses to the book and its themes from respected contemporary writers and thinkers: Hilary Mantel, Jessica Martin, Jenna Bailey, Rowan Williams, Kate Saunders, Francis Spufford and Maureen Freely.

A Buddhist Grief Observed

A Buddhist Grief Observed


  • Release: 2016-08-09
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 136 page
  • ISBN: 9781614293224
GET EBOOK

Amid the world-shattering pain of loss, what helps? “After the death of his beloved partner from cancer, Newland finds himself asking how effective his long years of Buddhist practice have been in helping him come to terms with overwhelming grief. This finely written book offers a lucid meditation on what it means to practice the Dharma when everything falls apart.” —Stephen Batchelor, author of Buddhism without Beliefs and After Buddhism In the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed, Guy Newland offers this brave record of falling to pieces and then learning to make sense of his pain and grief within his spiritual tradition. Drawing inspiration from all corners of the Buddhist world—from Dogen and the Dalai Lama, to Pema Chödrön and ancient Pali texts—this book reverberates with honesty, kindness, and deep humanity. Newland shows us the power of responding fully and authentically to the death of a loved one. “A sad, beautiful, and necessary book—and a map waiting for many who will need it.” —James Ishmael Ford, author of If You’re Lucky Your Heart Will Break “Guy Newland faces squarely the pain of death and the pain of grief and offers a work of uncommon power, insight, and honesty—and extraordinary compassion.” —Jay L. Garfield, author of Engaging Buddhism

A Grace Disguised

A Grace Disguised


  • Release: 1998-01-16
  • Publisher: Zondervan
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 190 page
  • ISBN: 0310219310
GET EBOOK

"The experience of loss does not have to be the defining moment of our lives", writes Gerald Sittser. "Instead, the defining moment can be our response to the loss. It is not what happens to us that matters so much as what happens in us". Sittser knows. A tragic accident introduced him to loss of a magnitude few of us encounter. But this is not a book about one man's sorrow. It's about the grace that can transform us in the midst of sorrow. For those experiencing loss, A Grace Disguised offers a compassionate, deeply affirming message of hope, richness in living, and joy not after the darkness, but even in the midst of it. Now in softcover.

The Cure for Sorrow

The Cure for Sorrow


  • Release: 2020-08
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 184 page
  • ISBN: 1735161209
GET EBOOK

When Jan Richardson unexpectedly lost her husband and creative partner, the singer/songwriter Garrison Doles, she did what she had long known how to do: she wrote blessings. These were no sugar-coated blessings. They minimized none of the pain and bewilderment that came in the wake of a wrenching death. With these blessings, Jan entered, instead, into the depths of the shock, anger, and sorrow. From those depths, she has brought forth words that, with heartbreaking honesty, offer surprising comfort and stunning grace. Those who know loss will find kinship among these pages. In these blessings that move through the anguish of rending into the unexpected shelters of solace and hope, there shimmers a light that helps us see we do not walk alone. From her own path of grief, Jan offers a luminous, unforgettable gift that invites us to know the tenacity of hope and to recognize the presence of love that, as she writes, is "sorrow's most lasting cure."

Looking Before and After

Looking Before and After


  • Release: 2008-04-15
  • Publisher: Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 114 page
  • ISBN: 9780802849816
GET EBOOK

In the work of such major theologians as Lesslie Newbigin and Stanley Hauerwas, the "Christian story" is communal, and the individual Christian achieves meaning only through participation in this communally recounted narrative. While Alan Jacobs acknowledges the importance of the communal story, he suggests that something has been neglected in the development of narrative theology -- the narrative dimension of individual Christian lives. Looking Before and After encourages us to ask how individual lives can, in a specifically Christian sense, be meaningful, how we can discern and rightly interpret those meanings, and how we might tell our own stories in ways that avoid the dangers of presumption and despair. In his typically beautiful writing style, Jacobs here reinvigorates narrative theology and demonstrates the power of individual life stories well told and properly understood.

Shepherd s Notes  C S  Lewis s the Problem of Pain

Shepherd s Notes C S Lewis s the Problem of Pain


  • Release: 2017-10
  • Publisher: Holman Reference
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 100 page
  • ISBN: 1462766099
GET EBOOK

Shepherd's notes helps readers better learn the books of the Bible and Christian classic writings in a concise and easy-to-understand format.