A Tapestry of Light

A Tapestry of Light


  • Release: 2021-03-16
  • Publisher: Baker Books
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 432 page
  • ISBN: 9781493429943
GET EBOOK

Calcutta, 1886. Ottilie Russell is adrift between two cultures, British and Indian, belonging to both and neither. In order to support her little brother, Thaddeus, and her grandmother, she relies upon her skills in beetle-wing embroidery that have been passed down to her through generations of Indian women. When a stranger appears with the news that Thaddeus is now Baron Sunderson and must travel to England to take his place as a nobleman, Ottilie is shattered by the secrets that come to light. Despite her growing friendship with Everett Scott, friend to Ottilie's English grandmother and aunt, she refuses to give up her brother. Then tragedy strikes, and she is forced to make a decision that will take Thaddeus far from death and herself far from home. But betrayal and loss lurk in England, too, and soon Ottilie must fight to ensure Thaddeus doesn't forget who he is, as well as find a way to stitch a place for herself in this foreign land.

Tapestry of Light

Tapestry of Light


  • Release: 2014-11-14
  • Publisher: BRILL
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 160 page
  • ISBN: 9789004285590
GET EBOOK

In Tapestry of Light Huang offers an account of the psychic, intellectual, and cultural aftermath of the Cultural Revolution found in the works of prominent Chinese intellectuals, writers, artists and filmmakers.

A Mosaic of Wings

A Mosaic of Wings


  • Release: 2020-05-05
  • Publisher: Baker Books
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 368 page
  • ISBN: 9781493425198
GET EBOOK

It's 1885, and all Nora Shipley wants, now that she's graduating from Cornell University as valedictorian of the entomology program, is to follow in her late father's footsteps by getting her master's degree and taking over the scientific journal he started. The only way to uphold her father's legacy is to win a scholarship, so she joins a research expedition in Kodaikanal, India, to prove herself in the field. India isn't what she expects, though, and neither is the rival classmate who accompanies her, Owen Epps. As her preconceptions of India--and of Owen--fall away, she finds both far more captivating than she expected. Forced by the expedition leader to stay at camp and illustrate exotic butterflies the men of the team find without her, Nora befriends Sita, a young Indian girl who has been dedicated to a goddess against her will. In this spellbinding new land, Nora is soon faced with impossible choices--between saving Sita and saving her career, and between what she's always thought she wanted and the man she's come to love.

Tapestry of Light

Tapestry of Light


  • Release: 2011-07-01
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, page
  • ISBN: 1458400239
GET EBOOK

(Harold Flammer Christmas). The joy and hope of Christmas are celebrated in this new Celtic-styled cantata from the pen that brought you The Mystery and the Majesty and Winter's Grace. This jubilant work is filled with tuneful carols, thoughtful narration, and sparkling orchestrations. Traditional melodies form the foundations of this tapestry of lights bringing to your holiday presentation a pleasing mixture of choirs, carols, and candlelight. Presented in both SAB and SATB formats, a full line of support products is available including a digital resource kit complete with PowerPoint images, rehearsal tips, and art files to assist in the creation of your program. Two orchestration options are available: a Celtic consort, and full orchestra.

A Tapestry of Treason

A Tapestry of Treason


  • Release: 2019-08-22
  • Publisher: HarperCollins UK
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 512 page
  • ISBN: 9780008225483
GET EBOOK

‘Gripping’ The Times ‘Fans of Philippa Gregory and other historical fiction writers will love Anne O’Brien’s A Tapestry of Treason’ Yours

A Tapestry of Time

A Tapestry of Time


  • Release: 2011-09-29
  • Publisher: Gateway
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 186 page
  • ISBN: 9780575108080
GET EBOOK

The first coming was the Man: The second was Fire to burn Him; The third was water to drown the Fire; The fourth is the Bird of Dawning. Twenty years have passed since the martyrdom of the Boy-piper at York, twenty years in which his legacy, the movement of Kinship, has challenged the tyranny of the Church Militant in Britain's seven island kingdoms. Now his namesake, Tom, bearing the Boy's own pipes and perhaps himself imbued with the spirit of the White Bird, is wandering Europe in company with the girl, Witchet. But disaster overtakes them and Tom, in a furry of vengeance, breaks his vow of Kinship. A terrible path lies before him, one that transcends his own world. As he travels it, Tom must come to understand the true nature of the wild White Bird, of The Bride of Time and her Child, and of the Song the Star Born sang.

City of Light

City of Light


  • Release: 2010-09-01
  • Publisher: Dial Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 512 page
  • ISBN: 9780307764027
GET EBOOK

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK It is 1901 and Buffalo, New York, stands at the center of the nation's attention as a place of immense wealth and sophistication. The massive hydroelectric power development at nearby Niagara Falls and the grand Pan-American Exposition promise to bring the Great Lakes “city of light” even more repute. Against this rich historical backdrop lives Louisa Barrett, the attractive, articulate headmistress of the Macaulay School for Girls. Protected by its powerful all-male board, “Miss Barrett” is treated as an equal by the men who control the life of the city. Lulled by her unique relationship with these titans of business, Louisa feels secure in her position, until a mysterious death at the power plant triggers a sequence of events that forces her to return to a past she has struggled to conceal, and to question everything and everyone she holds dear. Both observer and participant, Louisa Barrett guides the reader through the culture and conflicts of a time and place where immigrant factory workers and nature conservationists protest violently against industrialists, where presidents broker politics, where wealthy “Negroes” fight for recognition and equality, and where women struggle to thrive in a system that allows them little freedom. Wrought with remarkable depth and intelligence, City of Light remains a work completely of its own era, and of ours as well. A stirring literary accomplishment, Lauren Belfer's first novel marks the debut of a fresh voice for the new millennium and heralds a major publishing event.

A Tapestry of Values

A Tapestry of Values


  • Release: 2017-01-02
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 224 page
  • ISBN: 9780190260835
GET EBOOK

The role of values in scientific research has become an important topic of discussion in both scholarly and popular debates. Pundits across the political spectrum worry that research on topics like climate change, evolutionary theory, vaccine safety, and genetically modified foods has become overly politicized. At the same time, it is clear that values play an important role in science by limiting unethical forms of research and by deciding what areas of research have the greatest relevance for society. Deciding how to distinguish legitimate and illegitimate influences of values in scientific research is a matter of vital importance. Recently, philosophers of science have written a great deal on this topic, but most of their work has been directed toward a scholarly audience. This book makes the contemporary philosophical literature on science and values accessible to a wide readership. It examines case studies from a variety of research areas, including climate science, anthropology, chemical risk assessment, ecology, neurobiology, biomedical research, and agriculture. These cases show that values have necessary roles to play in identifying research topics, choosing research questions, determining the aims of inquiry, responding to uncertainty, and deciding how to communicate information. Kevin Elliott focuses not just on describing roles for values but also on determining when their influences are actually appropriate. He emphasizes several conditions for incorporating values in a legitimate fashion, and highlights multiple strategies for fostering engagement between stakeholders so that value influences can be subjected to careful and critical scrutiny.

A Slant of Light

A Slant of Light


  • Release: 2015-04-07
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 368 page
  • ISBN: 9781620404973
GET EBOOK

For fans of The Orchardist and The Cove and from the author of bestselling In the Fall, an epic historical novel that fearlessly addresses the largest questions of love, justice, and how to live. "Wonderfully entertaining, deeply moving, beautifully written . . . In my estimation, Jeffrey Lent is our most American writer since Mark Twain and one of the two of three best novelists of our time."--Howard Frank Mosher At the close of the Civil War, weary veteran Malcolm Hopeton returns to his home in western New York State to find his wife and hired man missing and his farm in disrepair. A double murder ensues, the repercussions of which ripple through a community with spiritual roots in the Second Great Awakening. Hopeton has gone from the horrors of war to those far worse, and arrayed around him are a host of other people struggling to make sense of his crime. Among them is Enoch Stone, the lawyer for the community, whose spiritual dedication is subverted by his lust for power; August Swartout, whose wife has left earthly time and whose eye is set on eternity; and a boy who must straddle two worlds as he finds his own truth and strength. Always there is love and the memory of love--as haunting as the American Eden that Jeffrey Lent has so exquisitely rendered in this unforgettable novel. A Slant of Light is a novel of earthly pleasure and deep love, of loss and war, of prophets and followers, of theft and revenge, in an American moment where a seemingly golden age has been shattered. This is Jeffrey Lent on his home ground and at the height of his powers.

The Hound of Rowan

The Hound of Rowan


  • Release: 2007
  • Publisher: Yearling
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 414 page
  • ISBN: 9780375838958
GET EBOOK

After glimpsing a hint of his destiny in a mysterious tapestry, twelve-year-old Max McDaniels becomes a student at Rowan Academy, where he trains in "mystics and combat" in preparation for war with an ancient enemy that has been kidnapping children like him.