An Unfinished Life

An Unfinished Life


  • Release: 2003-05-01
  • Publisher: Little, Brown
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 848 page
  • ISBN: 9780759528284
GET EBOOK

Drawing on previously unavailable material and never-before-opened archives, An Unfinished Life is packed with revelations large and small -- about JFK's health, his love affairs, RFK's appointment as Attorney General, what Joseph Kennedy did to help his son win the White House, and the path JFK would have taken in the Vietnam entanglement had he survived. Robert Dallek succeeds as no other biographer has done in striking a critical balance -- never shying away from JFK's weaknesses, brilliantly exploring his strengths -- as he offers up a vivid portrait of a bold, brave, complex, heroic, human Kennedy.

Salt in My Soul

Salt in My Soul


  • Release: 2020-01-28
  • Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 336 page
  • ISBN: 9781984855442
GET EBOOK

The diaries of a remarkable young woman who was determined to live a meaningful and happy life despite her struggle with cystic fibrosis and a rare superbug--from age fifteen to her death at the age of twenty-five "Captures the heartbreaking beauty of being alive."--Beck Dorey-Stein, New York Times bestselling author of From the Corner of the Oval Diagnosed with cystic fibrosis at the age of three, Mallory Smith grew up to be a determined, talented young woman who inspired others even as she privately raged against her illness. Despite the daily challenges of endless medical treatments and a deep understanding that she'd never lead a normal life, Mallory was determined to "Live Happy," a mantra she followed until her death. Mallory worked hard to make the most out of the limited time she had, graduating Phi Beta Kappa from Stanford University, becoming a cystic fibrosis advocate well known in the CF community, and embarking on a career as a professional writer. Along the way, she cultivated countless intimate friendships and ultimately found love. For more than ten years, Mallory recorded her thoughts and observations about struggles and feelings too personal to share during her life, leaving instructions for her mother to publish her work posthumously. She hoped that her writing would offer insight to those living with, or loving someone with, chronic illness. What emerges is a powerful and inspiring portrait of a brave young woman and blossoming writer who did not allow herself to be defined by disease. Her words offer comfort and hope to readers, even as she herself was facing death. Salt in My Soul is a beautifully crafted, intimate, and poignant tribute to a short life well lived--and a call for all of us to embrace our own lives as fully as possible. Advance praise for Salt in My Soul "This is a deeply moving book full of wisdom about health, life, and love--and about the importance of finding happiness wherever and whenever we can. It broke my heart but also

Otis Redding

Otis Redding


  • Release: 2017
  • Publisher: Crown Pub
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 533 page
  • ISBN: 9780307453945
GET EBOOK

A definitive biography of Otis Redding, the musical artist who was widely regarded as the quintessential soul singer of the 1960s, timed to coincide with the 50th anniversary of Redding's iconic performance at the 1967 Monterey Pop Festival. a Otis Redding remains a living presence in the canon of American popular music on the strength of such classic hits as "(Sittin' on) The Dock of the Bay," oI've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now),o "Try a Little Tenderness," and "Respect," a song that Redding wrote and recorded before Aretha Franklin made it immortal.a As a singer, songwriter, bandleader, and arranger, Redding was the chief architect of the distinctly southern, gospel-inflected style of rhythm & blues associated with Stax Records in Memphis. aYet, while Redding's music has long served as the gold standard of 1960s soul, an aura of myth and mystery has always surrounded the story of his life, which was tragically cut short at the height of his career by his death in a plane crash in December 1967. a Otis Reddingis the biography that finally does justice to the unfinished life of the man who was once celebrated as the oKing of Soul." aJonathan Gould's book draws on comprehensive research, the cooperation of the Redding family, and previously unavailable sources of information to present a fully-formed portrait of Redding's background, his upbringing, and his professional career.aa That said, this biography is not only a book about Redding and his music; it is also a social history of the time and place from which they emerged.a Rejecting the often sentimentalized view of race relations in the music business, Gould never lets us forget that the boundaries between black musicians and white listeners were becoming porous at precisely the moment when racial tensions were reaching a height throughout the United States. aHis indelible portrait of Redding and the mass acceptance of soul music in the 1960s is both a remarkable look at a little-understood artist and a

An Unfinished Agenda

An Unfinished Agenda


  • Release: 2015-01-15
  • Publisher: Penguin UK
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 288 page
  • ISBN: 9789351189213
GET EBOOK

From his birth in a village in Andhra to founding and running Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories, now one of India’s largest pharmaceutical enterprises, Dr K. Anji Reddy’s journey makes for an inspiring story. That story is told rivetingly in his own words in his memoir, An Unfinished Agenda. Dr Anji Reddy became an entrepreneur at a time when India was woefully short of technology to manufacture many basic medicines. Then, in barely three decades, the Indian pharmaceutical industry had grown to the point that India not only became self-sufficient in medicine, but also a supplier of affordable generic medicines to the world. Dr Anji Reddy provides a ringside view of this remarkable transformation, with fascinating anecdotes about those who made it happen. The history of modern medicine is a gripping story of triumphs and failures. An Unfinished Agenda takes the reader on a whirlwind tour of the science of medicine over the last hundred years and reminds us of the stark challenges that remain.

Philip Gould

Philip Gould


  • Release: 2012-09-25
  • Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 187 page
  • ISBN: 9781137281128
GET EBOOK

The death of Philip Gould, former Labour Party Communications Director, in 2011, deprived Britain of one of its most acute and well-respected political minds. In this book, his friends and colleagues discuss his life from his early years in the Labour Party to his ultimately doomed fight against cancer.

An Unfinished Season

An Unfinished Season


  • Release: 2005
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 251 page
  • ISBN: 061856828X
GET EBOOK

Class struggle and family tensions explode in this novel of life in a Chicago suburb in the 1950s, as a teenager watches his father's psyche crumble in the wake of union problems and marital difficulties. 17,500 first printing.

The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone  A Novel

The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone A Novel


  • Release: 2014-08-12
  • Publisher: Soho Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 256 page
  • ISBN: 9781616953614
GET EBOOK

For fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Girl, Interrupted, and A.S. King, National Book Award-finalist Adele Griffin tells the fully illustrated story of a brilliant young artist, her mysterious death, and the fandom that won't let her go. From the moment she stepped foot in NYC, Addison Stone’s subversive street art made her someone to watch, and her violent drowning left her fans and critics craving to know more. I conducted interviews with those who knew her best—including close friends, family, teachers, mentors, art dealers, boyfriends, and critics—and retraced the tumultuous path of Addison's life. I hope I can shed new light on what really happened the night of July 28. —Adele Griffin From the Hardcover edition.

An Unfinished Life

An Unfinished Life


  • Release: 2005-06-28
  • Publisher: Vintage Books
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 257 page
  • ISBN: 9781400076147
GET EBOOK

Seeking to escape her brutal boyfriend and hoping to introduce her daughter, Griff, to the grandfather she has never met, widow Jean Gilkyson seeks refuge in her late husband's Wyoming hometown with her estranged father-in-law, who blames her for his son's death. Reader's Guide available. Reprint. 60,000 first printing.