By Any Other Name

By Any Other Name


  • Release: 2013-04-01
  • Publisher: Egmont UK
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 368 page
  • ISBN: 9781780313283
GET EBOOK

'I picked up the book and thumbed through the pages. Names in alphabetical order, names with meanings, names I knew, names I'd never heard of. How to pick? Nothing that would stand out, nothing that would link me to the past - those were the instructions. The past. As if everything that had gone before this moment was buried already.' An original and captivating book for young adults by Laura Jarrett, nominee of the Waterstones Children's Book Award and the Carnegie Children's Book Award. Holly is fifteen years old, but she’s only been “Holly” for a matter of months. Because of something that happened, she and her family have had to enter witness protection and have all assumed new identities. All, that is, except her sister Katie, who is autistic. Starting at a new school mid-term is hard enough at the best of times, and Holly has no clue who she is any more. Lonely and angry, she reaches out to friends – new and old. But one wrong move will put all their lives in danger. Laura Jarrett is one of the finest authors writing books for teens in Britain today. Fans of Jenny Valentine's Double and Keren David's When I Was Joe will love this heart-stopping thriller. Look out for Laura's other books: Louder than Words, Skin Deep, and In Another Life. Laura Jarratt was born in Salford and has lived all over the UK. Although her favourite subject was English, she accidentally studied Science at university. She finally settled in rural Cheshire, where she lives with her family and is owned by a ginger cat with no tail. By day, she works in education because it’s never boring and by night, she writes for young adults because they’re the most interesting people in the world. Skin Deep, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Prize and the the YA category of the Romantic Novelists Association. Praise for By Any Other Name ‘Intensely romantic, really thrilling . . . Of the 60 or so books I've read so far this year, this is one of the very, very best.’ Bookbag ‘I lov

A Duke by Any Other Name

A Duke by Any Other Name


  • Release: 2020-04-28
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 384 page
  • ISBN: 9781538700303
GET EBOOK

With her trademark wit, New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes delivers a charming Regency romance featuring a duke who excels at brooding in solitude and the lady who refuses to leave him in peace. Nathaniel, Duke of Rothhaven, lives in seclusion, leaving his property only to gallop his demon-black steed across the moors by moonlight. Exasperated mamas invoke his name to frighten small children, though Nathaniel is truly a decent man -- maybe too decent for his own good. That's precisely why he must turn away the beguiling woman demanding his help. Lady Althea Wentworth has little patience for dukes, reclusive or otherwise, but she needs Rothhaven's backing to gain entrance into Polite Society. She's asked him nicely, she's called on him politely, all to no avail -- until her prize hogs just happen to plunder the ducal orchard. He longs for privacy. She's vowed to never endure another ball as a wallflower. Yet as the two grow closer, it soon becomes clear they might both be pretending to be something they're not.

A Rogue by Any Other Name

A Rogue by Any Other Name


  • Release: 2012-02-28
  • Publisher: Harper Collins
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 400 page
  • ISBN: 9780062065384
GET EBOOK

New York Times bestselling author Sarah MacLean has taken the world of historical romance fiction by storm! With A Rogue by Any Other Name, she once again boldly breaks new ground. The first book in her remarkably fresh and original Fallen Angels series—featuring four dark Regency Era heroes who will steal the hearts of their heroines and the readers alike—A Rogue will captivate fans of Julia Quinn and Suzanne Enoch while bringing new romance readers eagerly into the fold. The scintillating story of a disgraced Marquess reduced to running a London gambling hall who hopes to restore his good fortune by marrying a very proper lady who’s secretly drawn to sin, A Rogue by Any Other Name is sexy and wicked fun.

Any Other Name

Any Other Name


  • Release: 2018-08-11
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 416 page
  • ISBN: 1719485690
GET EBOOK

It's 1834 England. Following the tragic deaths of her father and twin brother, Rose Marsden disguises herself as a man and assumes her brother's identity and her father's title. Her duplicity is successful for nearly a decade, but she knows that she'll eventually need to procure an heir. Lady Margaret Clayton is also in trouble. Her fiancé has been killed, leaving her pregnant and unwed. Two women with secrets that could destroy their reputations turn to one another and hatch a plan meant to solve both of their problems, but their unexpected feelings for one another just might ruin it all.Any Other Name is a beautifully crafted story of love, deception, friendship, and hope.

Prison by Any Other Name

Prison by Any Other Name


  • Release: 2020-07-21
  • Publisher: The New Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, page
  • ISBN: 9781620973110
GET EBOOK

A crucial indictment of widely embraced "alternatives to incarceration" that exposes how many of these new approaches actually widen the net of punishment and surveillance "But what does it mean—really—to celebrate reforms that convert your home into your prison?" —Michelle Alexander, from the foreword Electronic monitoring. Locked-down drug treatment centers. House arrest. Mandated psychiatric treatment. Data-driven surveillance. Extended probation. These are some of the key alternatives held up as cost-effective substitutes for jails and prisons. But many of these so-called reforms actually widen the net, weaving in new strands of punishment and control, and bringing new populations, who would not otherwise have been subject to imprisonment, under physical control by the state. As mainstream public opinion has begun to turn against mass incarceration, political figures on both sides of the spectrum are pushing for reform. But—though they're promoted as steps to confront high rates of imprisonment—many of these measures are transforming our homes and communities into prisons instead. In Prison by Any Other Name, activist journalists Maya Schenwar and Victoria Law reveal the way the kinder, gentler narrative of reform can obscure agendas of social control and challenge us to question the ways we replicate the status quo when pursuing change. A foreword by Michelle Alexander situates the book in the context of criminal justice reform conversations. Finally, the book offers a bolder vision for truly alternative justice practices.

An Outhouse by Any Other Name

An Outhouse by Any Other Name


  • Release: 1999
  • Publisher: august house
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 96 page
  • ISBN: 087483578X
GET EBOOK

Natural Products: Discourse, Diversity and Designprovides an informative and accessible overview of discoveries in the area of natural products in the genomic era, bringing together advances across the kingdoms. As genomics data makes it increasingly clear that the genomes of microbes and plants contain far more genes for natural product synthesis than had been predicted from the numbers of previously identified metabolites, the potential of these organisms to synthesize diverse natural products is likely to be far greater than previously envisaged.Natural Productsaddresses not only the philosophical questions of the natural role of these metabolites, but also the evolution of single and multiple pathways, and how these pathways and products may be harnessed to aid discovery of new bioactives and modes of action. Edited by recognized leaders in the fields of plant and microbial biology, bioorganic chemistry and natural products chemistry, and with contributions from researchers at top labs around the world,Natural Productsis unprecedented in its combination of disciplines and the breadth of its coverage.Natural Produces: Discourse, Diversity and Designwill appeal to advanced students and experienced researchers, from academia to industry, in diverse areas including ecology, industrial biotechnology, drug discovery, medicinal chemistry, agronomy, crop improvement, and natural product chemistry.

By Any Other Name

By Any Other Name


  • Release: 2015-02-23
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 352 page
  • ISBN: 1942206135
GET EBOOK

Genevieve "Genna" Galante knows a thing or two about causing trouble. After all, it's engrained in her DNA. As the only daughter of Primo Galante, notorious boss of the Galante crime family, her life is dictated by a certain set of rules... rules Genna was never very good at following. Matteo "Matty" Barsanti never wanted anything to do with the family business, but as the first-born Barsanti son, certain things are expected of him.

A Sin by Any Other Name

A Sin by Any Other Name


  • Release: 2019-04-02
  • Publisher: Convergent Books
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 256 page
  • ISBN: 9780525576389
GET EBOOK

A descendant of Confederate General Robert E. Lee chronicles his story of growing up with the South's most honored name, and the moments that forced him to confront the privilege, racism, and subversion of human dignity that came with it. With a foreword by Rev. Dr. Bernice A. King. The Reverend Robert W. Lee was a little-known pastor at a small church in North Carolina until the Charlottesville protests, when he went public with his denunciation of white supremacy in a captivating speech at the MTV Video Music Awards. Support poured in from around the country, but so did threats of violence from people who opposed the Reverend's message. Weeks later, Lee was ousted from his church. In this riveting memoir, he narrates what it was like growing up as a Lee in the South, an experience that was colored by the world of the white Christian majority. He describes the widespread nostalgia for the Lost Cause and his gradual awakening to the unspoken assumptions of white supremacy which had, almost without him knowing it, distorted his values and even his Christian faith. In particular, Lee examines how many white Christians continue to be complicit in a culture of racism and injustice, and how after losing his pulpit, he was welcomed into a growing movement of activists all across the South who are charting a new course for the region. A Sin by Any Other Name is a love letter to the South, from the South, by a Lee--and an unforgettable call for change, hope, and renewal.

A Girl By Any Other Name

A Girl By Any Other Name


  • Release: 2014-01-10
  • Publisher: Total-e-bound
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 254 page
  • ISBN: 9781781849255
GET EBOOK

Everyone tells him he needs to move on, but how can a man function without his heart? Ten-year-old Caleb Tanner wants nothing to do with Sylvie Cranston, the annoying weird girl who moves next door to him and gets him in trouble for swearing. But at twelve, they become friends when he teaches her how to hook a fishing line and she shows him the value of a selfless act. At fourteen, he falls in love with her. At sixteen, she dies. Or so he’s told. But Cal never believes it. Sylvie has become part of his soul. He knows her like the steady beating of his own heart. He’d know if she was dead. Cal looks for her, prays for her and finally he just waits for her. Nine years later, she walks into the community college English class Cal is teaching. Only this girl claims her name is Sophie Becker and she doesn’t know him. Cal knows better. He’s determined to get the girl he loves back—and protect her from the danger that took her away all those years ago.