Behind Closed Doors

Behind Closed Doors


  • Release: 2016-08-09
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 336 page
  • ISBN: 9781250121011
GET EBOOK

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING DEBUT PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER YOU CAN'T MISS! The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie? “A hair-raising debut, both unsettling and addictive...A chilling thriller that will keep you reading long into the night.” —Mary Kubica, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Good Girl “This is one readers won’t be able to put down.” —Booklist (starred review) "A can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” —Library Journal (starred review) “This debut is guaranteed to haunt you...Warning: brace yourself.” —Bustle (10 New Thrillers to Read This Summer) “The sense of believably and terror that engulfs Behind Closed Doors doesn't waver.” —The Associated Press, picked up by The Washington Post “This was one of the best and most terrifying psychological thrillers I have ever read.” —San Francisco Book Review Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth; she has charm and elegance. He’s a dedicated attorney who has never lost a case; she is a flawless homemaker, a masterful gardener and cook, and dotes on her disabled younger sister. Though they are still newlyweds, they seem to have it all. You might not want to like them, but you do. You’re hopelessly charmed by the ease and comfort of their home, by the graciousness of the dinner parties they throw. You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are inseparable. Some might call this true love. Others might wonder why Grace never answers the phone. Or why she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. Or why she never seems to take anything with her when she leaves the house, not even a pen. Or why there are such high-security metal shutters on all the downstairs windows. Some might wonder what’s really going on once the dinner party is over, and the front door has closed. From

Behind Closed Doors

Behind Closed Doors


  • Release: 2016-02-11
  • Publisher: HarperCollins UK
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 384 page
  • ISBN: 9781474037945
GET EBOOK

***The Million-copy International Bestseller*** ‘If you love The Girl on the Train read Behind Closed Doors’ Elle ‘Twists our expectations of the entire psychological thriller genre’ Guardian

Behind Closed Doors

Behind Closed Doors


  • Release: 2016-05-01
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Australia
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 352 page
  • ISBN: 9781489214966
GET EBOOK

A psychological thriller with a twist you won't see coming… 'A hair–raising debut, BEHIND CLOSED DOORS is both unsettling and addictive, as I raced through the pages to find out Grace's fate. A chilling thriller that will keep you reading long into the night.' Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl 'It took me just an afternoon to read this book and by the end, my heart was pounding. If you like fast and frantic stories, you'll love this.' The Sun 'This one is 2016's answer to Gone Girl. Nuff said.' Women's Health UK The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie? Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth; she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do. You'd like to get to know Grace better. But it's difficult, because you realise Jack and Grace are never apart. Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn't work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows. Behind Closed Doors by B A Paris is an unforgettable, page–turning debut thriller that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins and Jodi Picoult. Addictive, compulsive and much more! It's so big we can't keep it Behind Closed Doors Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Ice Twins Now includes an excerpt of The Dilemma

Behind Closed Doors

Behind Closed Doors


  • Release: 2009-11-17
  • Publisher: Yale University Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 445 page
  • ISBN: 9780300188561
GET EBOOK

From the award-winning author of The Gentleman’s Daughter,a witty and academic illumination of daily domestic life in Georgian England. In this brilliant work, Amanda Vickery unlocks the homes of Georgian England to examine the lives of the people who lived there. Writing with her customary wit and verve, she introduces us to men and women from all walks of life: gentlewoman Anne Dormer in her stately Oxfordshire mansion, bachelor clerk and future novelist Anthony Trollope in his dreary London lodgings, genteel spinsters keeping up appearances in two rooms with yellow wallpaper, servants with only a locking box to call their own. Vickery makes ingenious use of upholsterer’s ledgers, burglary trials, and other unusual sources to reveal the roles of house and home in economic survival, social success, and political representation during the long eighteenth century. Through the spread of formal visiting, the proliferation of affordable ornamental furnishings, the commercial celebration of feminine artistry at home, and the currency of the language of taste, even modest homes turned into arenas of social campaign and exhibition. The basis of a 3-part TV series for BBC2. “Vickery is that rare thing, an…historian who writes like a novelist.”—Jane Schilling, Daily Mail “Comparison between Vickery and Jane Austen is irresistible…This book is almost too pleasurable, in that Vickery's style and delicious nosiness conceal some seriously weighty scholarship.”—Lisa Hilton, The Independent “If until now the Georgian home has been like a monochrome engraving, Vickery has made it three dimensional and vibrantly colored. Behind Closed Doors demonstrates that rigorous academic work can also be nosy, gossipy, and utterly engaging.”—Andrea Wulf, New York Times Book Review

Behind Closed Doors

Behind Closed Doors


  • Release: 1988
  • Publisher: Transaction Publishers
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 301 page
  • ISBN: 1412817935
GET EBOOK

Behind Closed Doors is grounded in the unprecedented national survey of the extent, patterns, and causes of violence in the American family. Based on a study of over 2,000 families, the authors provide landmark insights into this phenomenon of violence and what causes Americans to inflict it on their family members. The authors explore the relationship between spousal abuse and child abuse as well as abuse between siblings, violence by children against their parents, and the causes and effects of verbal abuse. Taken together, their analysis provides a vivid picture of how violence is woven into the fabric of family life and why the hallmark of family life is both love and violence. This is a comprehensive, highly readable account of interest to both the professional and the layperson on an important topic, which concerns the social well-being of us all.

Behind Closed Doors

Behind Closed Doors


  • Release: 2006
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 273 page
  • ISBN: 0340837926
GET EBOOK

Jenny grew up in a house where no-one was safe. Born one of five children in the East End, her childhood was spent in squalor and terror. Her father's violent beatings, humiliations, and sexual abuse were part of daily life; her mother - also his sexual victim and savagely beaten - was no source of help. Deprived of love and all comforts, the children would turn to each other for support and to the only adult they could trust, Auntie. This is the story of how Jenny, her sister Kim and brother Laurence, not only survived but ultimately transcended the unimaginable degradations heaped on them. With the power of love, cunning, the blackest of black humour and an indestructible self-belief, Jenny eventually broke free of her past.

Behind Closed Doors

Behind Closed Doors


  • Release: 2001
  • Publisher: Univ of California Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 254 page
  • ISBN: 0520209842
GET EBOOK

Until now there has been little available in English about Bellmer's dolls, and Lichtenstein's book will be welcomed for its fresh interpretations of the artist's work and his place in European modernism. Eighty striking photographs accompany the text."--BOOK JACKET.

Behind Closed Doors

Behind Closed Doors


  • Release: 2012-02-01
  • Publisher: University of Chicago Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 229 page
  • ISBN: 9780226770864
GET EBOOK

Although the subject of federally mandated Institutional Review Boards (IRBs) has been extensively debated, we actually do not know much about what takes place when they convene. The story of how IRBs work today is a story about their past as well as their present, and Behind Closed Doors is the first book to meld firsthand observations of IRB meetings with the history of how rules for the treatment of human subjects were formalized in the United States in the decades after World War II. Drawing on extensive archival sources, Laura Stark reconstructs the daily lives of scientists, lawyers, administrators, and research subjects working—and “warring”—on the campus of the National Institutes of Health, where they first wrote the rules for the treatment of human subjects. Stark argues that the model of group deliberation that gradually crystallized during this period reflected contemporary legal and medical conceptions of what it meant to be human, what political rights human subjects deserved, and which stakeholders were best suited to decide. She then explains how the historical contingencies that shaped rules for the treatment of human subjects in the postwar era guide decision making today—within hospitals, universities, health departments, and other institutions in the United States and across the globe. Meticulously researched and gracefully argued, Behind Closed Doors will be essential reading for sociologists and historians of science and medicine, as well as policy makers and IRB administrators.