Blue Like Jazz

Blue Like Jazz


  • Release: 2012-04
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson Inc
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 243 page
  • ISBN: 9781400204588
GET EBOOK

A popular minister recounts his zealous early life pursuit of the Christian life and his experiences of emptiness and spiritual detachment, tracing his quest to connect with a God he perceived as distant.

Searching for God Knows What

Searching for God Knows What


  • Release: 2010-05-24
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 272 page
  • ISBN: 9781418529956
GET EBOOK

In Searching for God Knows What, best-selling author Donald Miller invites you to reconnect with a faith worth believing. With humor, intelligence, and his trademark writing style, he shows that relationship is God’s way of leading us to redemption. And our need for redemption drives us to relationship with God. “Being a Christian,” Miller writes, “is more like falling in love than understanding a series of ideas.” Maybe you are a Christian wondering what faith you signed up for. Or maybe you don’t believe anything and are daring someone—anyone—to show you a genuine example of authentic faith. Somewhere beyond the self-help formulas, fancy marketing, and easy promises there is a life-changing experience with God waiting. Searching for God Knows What weaves together beautiful stories and fresh perspectives on the Bible to show one man’s journey to find it. “Like a shaken snow globe, Donald Miller’s newest collection of essays creates a swirl of ideas about the Christian life that eventually crystallize into a lovely landscape . . . [He] is one of the evangelical book market’s most creative writers.” —Christianity Today “If you have felt that Jesus is someone you respect and admire—but Christianity is something that repels you—Searching for God Knows What will give you hope that you still can follow Jesus and be part of a church without the trappings of organized religion.” —Dan Kimball Author of The Emerging Church and Pastor of Vintage Faith Church, Santa Cruz, CA “For fans of Blue Like Jazz, I doubt you will be disappointed. Donald Miller writes with the wit and vulnerability that you expect. He perfectly illustrates important themes in a genuine and humorous manner . . . For those who would be reading Miller for the first time, this would be a great start.” —Relevant

Scary Close

Scary Close


  • Release: 2015-02-10
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 256 page
  • ISBN: 9781400203970
GET EBOOK

After decades of failed relationships and painful drama, Donald Miller decided he’d had enough. Impressing people wasn’t helping him connect with anyone. He’d built a life of public isolation, yet he dreamed of meaningful relationships. So at forty years old he made a scary decision: to be himself no matter what it cost. From the author of Blue Like Jazz comes a book about the risk involved in choosing to impress fewer people and connect with more, about the freedom that comes when we stop acting and start loving. It is a story about knocking down old walls to create a healthy mind, a strong family, and a satisfying career. And it all feels like a conversation with the best kind of friend: smart, funny, true, important. Scary Close is Donald Miller at his best.

Exploring Blue LIke Jazz Resource Guide

Exploring Blue LIke Jazz Resource Guide


  • Release: 2012-03-26
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 256 page
  • ISBN: 9781418549541
GET EBOOK

Growing up is harder than it used to be. Exploring Blue Like Jazz is a guide about how to do life and faith well in the phase after high school that some have termed “emerging adulthood.” It’s a book intended to make growing up a little easier. Using the topics, themes, and questions addressed in Blue Like Jazz: The Movie as a means of starting the conversation, Donald Miller and Dixon Kinser offer an extremely frank look at sex, drugs, questions of faith, and other topics students face when moving from high school to the freedom of college, a work environment, and beyond. This very candid resource guide is the first of its kind, providing practical help for emerging adults, youth directors, mentors, and parents. Features include: Complete index of subjects addressed in the video, with useful statistics, conversation starters, and critical questions for emerging adults to consider A plan for students and twenty-somethings to manage their new-found freedom 5-week study for youth leaders and small groups to help emerging adults work through these issues For use on its own or with the Exploring Blue Like Jazz DVD-Based Study (ISBN 9781418549510).

Neighbors and Wise Men

Neighbors and Wise Men


  • Release: 2012-09-17
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 256 page
  • ISBN: 9780849964039
GET EBOOK

Hearing from God is extraordinary. But the circumstances He uses to reveal Himself may be more ordinary than we think. Neighbors and Wise Men introduces captivating dialogues and unexpected moments with God that go beyond the confines of a conventional religious system and offer the chance for powerful life transformation. Get to know Tony Kriz (known by many as "Tony the Beat Poet" in Donald Miller's best-selling book Blue Like Jazz) through his real-life conversations and experiences that prove that God can and will use anyone and anything— from Muslim lands to antireligious academics to post-Christian cultures—to make Himself known. Through his own prodigal-son backstory and return to faith, Tony presents biblical truth in a conversational, but bold light that offers readers the courage to open their eyes to the unlikely encounters that are all around us every day; chance run-ins that turn out to be anything but chance. Have we limited God's ability to speak in our world today? Have we relegated God's creative voice to the select persons who share our particular religious system? Kriz himself felt like he was falling out of faith until non-Christians encouraged him to "fall toward Christ."

If You Feel Too Much

If You Feel Too Much


  • Release: 2015-05-26
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 208 page
  • ISBN: 9780698409354
GET EBOOK

The New York Times Bestseller In 2006 Jamie Tworkowski wrote a story called “To Write Love on Her Arms,” about helping a friend through her struggle with drug addiction, depression, and self-injury. The piece was so hauntingly beautiful that it quickly went viral, giving birth to a non-profit organization of the same name. Now, To Write Love on Her Arms (TWLOHA) is an internationally recognized leader in suicide prevention and a source of hope, encouragement, and support for people worldwide. If You Feel Too Much is a celebration of hope, wonder, and what it means to be human. From personal stories of struggling on days most people celebrate to words of strength and encouragement in moments of loss, the essays in this book invite readers to believe that it’s okay to admit to pain and okay to ask for help. If You Feel Too Much is an important book from one of this generation’s most important voices.

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years


  • Release: 2009-09-28
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 288 page
  • ISBN: 9781418585877
GET EBOOK

After writing a successful memoir, Donald Miller's life stalled. During what should have been the height of his success, he found himself unwilling to get out of bed, avoiding responsibility, even questioning the meaning of life. But when two movie producers proposed turning his memoir into a movie, he found himself launched into a new story filled with risk, possibility, beauty, and meaning. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years chronicles Miller's rare opportunity to edit his life into a great story, to reinvent himself so nobody shrugs their shoulders when the credits roll. Through heart-wrenching honesty and hilarious self-inspection, Donald Miller takes readers through the life that emerges when it turns from boring reality into meaningful narrative. Miller goes from sleeping all day to riding his bike across America, from living in romantic daydreams to fearful encounters with love, from wasting his money to founding a nonprofit with a passionate cause. Guided by a host of outlandish but very real characters, Miller shows us how to get a second chance at life the first time around. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years is a rare celebration of the beauty of life.

Angry Conversations with God

Angry Conversations with God


  • Release: 2009-03-12
  • Publisher: FaithWords
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 256 page
  • ISBN: 9780446544696
GET EBOOK

Disillusioned, disenfranchised, and disinterested in anything churchy, Susan Isaacs knew of only one thing to do when she hit spiritual rock bottom at age 40. . . . She took God to couples counseling. In this cuttingly poignant memoir, Susan Isaacs chronicles her rocky relationship with the Almighty--from early childhood to midlife crisis--and all the churches where she and God tried to make a home: Pentecostals, Slackers for Jesus, and the über-intellectuals who turned everything, including the weekly church announcements, into a three-point sermon. Casting herself as the neglected spouse, Susan faces her inner nag and the ridiculous expectations she put on God--some her own, and some from her "crazy in-laws" at church. Originally staged as a solo show in New York and Los Angeles, ANGRY CONVERSATIONS WITH GOD is a cheeky, heartfelt memoir that, even at its most scandalous, is still an affirmation of faith.

Jazz Notes

Jazz Notes


  • Release: 2008-04-15
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 128 page
  • ISBN: 9781418573195
GET EBOOK

Jazz Notes is the literary equivalent of a remix CD-cool sound-bytes strategically crafted from Don Miller's classic Blue Like Jazz, combined with brand new material that offers the author's fans an inside look at some of the unforgettable-and outrageous-characters and stories from the original best seller. Jazz Notes captures the essential Don Miller with non-religious reflections on how Don's incredible spiritual odyssey got started; what happened to Don at one of the most liberal colleges in the world to help him experience faith and grace for the first time in his life; a recasting of Don's marvelous "confession booth" story; and how Don discovered the secret to really loving other people-and himself. Jazz Notes includes a bonus audio CD with Don Miller interview. BLUE LIKE JAZZ Highlight Notes: 1 million copies sold 45 appearances on the NY Times Bestseller List-and counting A publishing phenomenon that continues to sell more books each year it is in the marketplace!