Call for the Dead

Call for the Dead


  • Release: 2013-10-22
  • Publisher: Penguin Canada
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 176 page
  • ISBN: 9780143191186
GET EBOOK

George Smiley is no one’s idea of a spy—which is perhaps why he’s such a natural. But Smiley apparently made a mistake. After a routine security interview, he concluded that the affable Samuel Fennan had nothing to hide. Why, then, did the man from the Foreign Office shoot himself in the head only hours later? Or did he? The heart-stopping tale of intrigue that launched both novelist and spy, Call for the Dead is an essential introduction to le Carré’s chillingly amoral universe. amoral universe.

Call for the Dead

Call for the Dead


  • Release: 2002-01-29
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 160 page
  • ISBN: 9780743431675
GET EBOOK

Featuring an introduction by the author, this is a paperback reissue of the debut novel that introduces one of the most popular characters in espionage fiction: George Smiley.

Call for the Dead

Call for the Dead


  • Release: 2012-10-02
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 176 page
  • ISBN: 9781101603758
GET EBOOK

From the New York Times bestselling author of A Legacy of Spies. "Go back to Whitehall and look for more spies on your drawing boards." George Smiley is no one's idea of a spy—which is perhaps why he's such a natural. But Smiley apparently made a mistake. After a routine security interview, he concluded that the affable Samuel Fennan had nothing to hide. Why, then, did the man from the Foreign Office shoot himself in the head only hours later? Or did he? The heart-stopping tale of intrigue that launched both novelist and spy, Call for the Dead is an essential introduction to le Carré's chillingly amoral universe.

Call for the Dead

Call for the Dead


  • Release: 2013-10-22
  • Publisher: Penguin Canada
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 176 page
  • ISBN: 9780143191186
GET EBOOK

George Smiley is no one’s idea of a spy—which is perhaps why he’s such a natural. But Smiley apparently made a mistake. After a routine security interview, he concluded that the affable Samuel Fennan had nothing to hide. Why, then, did the man from the Foreign Office shoot himself in the head only hours later? Or did he? The heart-stopping tale of intrigue that launched both novelist and spy, Call for the Dead is an essential introduction to le Carré’s chillingly amoral universe. amoral universe.

A Murder of Quality

A Murder of Quality


  • Release: 2013-10-22
  • Publisher: Penguin Canada
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 176 page
  • ISBN: 9780143191193
GET EBOOK

John le Carré’s second novel, A Murder of Quality, offers an exquisite, satirical look at an elite private school as it chronicles the early development of George Smiley. Miss Ailsa Brimley is in a quandary. She’s received a peculiar letter from Mrs. Stella Rode saying that she fears her husband—an assistant master at Carne School—is trying to kill her. Reluctant to go to the police, Miss Brimley calls upon her old wartime colleague, George Smiley. Unfortunately, it’s too late—Mrs. Rode has just been murdered. As Smiley takes up the investigation, he realizes that in life—as in espionage—nothing is quite what it appears.

Calling the Dead

Calling the Dead


  • Release: 2008-08-17
  • Publisher: Bold Strokes Books Inc
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 336 page
  • ISBN: 9781602823327
GET EBOOK

Detective Sept Savoie is a cop who thinks making a relationship work is harder than catching a serial killer, but her current case may prove her wrong. Six months after Hurricane Katrina has devastated most of New Orleans, Detective Sept Savoie is battling the nightmare of everything the storm has taken from her when a brutalized body turns up behind one of New Orleans's most famous restaurants, run by Keegan Blanchard. The more Sept works through the clues, the more they point to Keegan, making the relationship growing between them anything but love at first sight. The first death is only the beginning, though, as the miles of deserted neighborhoods Katrina left behind provide the perfect stage for murder.

Don t Call Us Dead

Don t Call Us Dead


  • Release: 2017-09-05
  • Publisher: Graywolf Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 96 page
  • ISBN: 9781555979775
GET EBOOK

The highly anticipated second collection by Danez Smith—“Hallelujah is an understatement” (Patricia Smith) Award-winning poet Danez Smith is a groundbreaking force, celebrated for deft lyrics, urgent subjects, and performative power. Don’t Call Us Dead opens with a heartrending sequence that imagines an afterlife for black men shot by police, a place where suspicion, violence, and grief are forgotten and replaced with the safety, love, and longevity they deserved here on earth. Smith turns then to desire, mortality—the dangers experienced in skin and body and blood—and a diagnosis of HIV positive. “Some of us are killed / in pieces,” Smith writes, “some of us all at once.” Don’t Call Us Dead is an astonishing and ambitious collection, one that confronts, praises, and rebukes America—“Dear White America”—where every day is too often a funeral and not often enough a miracle.

An Honorable Man

An Honorable Man


  • Release: 2016-04-12
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 288 page
  • ISBN: 9781501110405
GET EBOOK

For fans of Alan Furst and John le Carré comes An Honorable Man, a chilling Cold War spy thriller set in postwar Washington, DC that Kirkus Reviews called, “noir to the bone.” Washington DC, 1953. The Cold War is heating up; McCarthyism, in all its fear and demagoguery, is raging in the nation’s capital, and Joseph Stalin’s death has left a dangerous power vacuum in the Soviet Union. The CIA, meanwhile, is reeling from the discovery of a double agent within their midst. Someone is selling secrets to the Soviets, compromising missions and endangering lives around the globe. The CIA director knows any news of the traitor, whose code name is Protocol, would be a national embarrassment and weaken the entire agency. He assembles an elite team to find Protocol. George Mueller seems to be the perfect man to help the investigation: Yale-educated; extensive experience running missions in Eastern Europe; an operative so dedicated to his job that it left his marriage in tatters. Mueller, though, has secrets of his own, and as he digs deeper into the case, making contact with a Soviet agent, suspicion begins to fall on him, as well. Paranoia and fear spreads and until Protocol is found, no one can be trusted.

The Little Drummer Girl

The Little Drummer Girl


  • Release: 2008-06-03
  • Publisher: Penguin Canada
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 480 page
  • ISBN: 9780143182924
GET EBOOK

Charlie is a promiscuous, unsuccessful English actress in her twenties. Intrigued by a handsome, solitary stranger, she finds herself lured into the “theatre of the real.” For the mysterious man is Kurtz, an embattled Israeli intelligence officer out to stop the bombing of Jews in Europe. Forced to play her most challenging role, Charlie is plunged into a deceptive and delicate trap set to ensnare an elusive Palestinian terrorist … and soon proves herself a double agent of the highest order.

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy


  • Release: 2006-08-22
  • Publisher: Penguin Canada
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 400 page
  • ISBN: 9780143186373
GET EBOOK

George Smiley’s deadly game Smiley and his people are facing a remarkable challenge: a mole—a Soviet double agent—who has burrowed his way in and up to the highest level of British Intelligence. His treachery has already blown some of their vital operations and their best networks. The mole is one of their own kind. But who is it?