Cocaine Blues

Cocaine Blues


  • Release: 2015-11-03
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 175 page
  • ISBN: 9781464206184
GET EBOOK

From the author of the bestselling Phryne Fisher Series comes Cocaine Blues, the first historical mystery featuring the sensual, posh, and intrepid murder detective Phryne Fisher... "Phryne can not get enough of adventure and the reader can not get enough of Phryne."—Deadly Pleasures Looking for a riveting historical mystery series? This book is for you: Perfect for Fans of Rhys Bowen and Dorothy Sayers Inspired the Netflix show Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries, starring Essie Davis Movie Currently Streaming on Acorn TV The London season is in full fling at the end of the roaring 1920s, but the Honourable Phryne Fisher—she of the green-gray eyes, diamant garters, and outfits that should not be sprung suddenly on those of nervous dispositions—is rapidly tiring of the tedium of arranging flowers, making polite conversations with retired colonels, and dancing with weak-chinned men. Instead, Phryne decides it might be rather amusing to try her hand at being a lady detective in Melbourne, Australia. Almost immediately from the time she books into the Windsor Hotel, Phryne is embroiled in mystery: poisoned wives, cocaine smuggling rings, corrupt cops, and communism—not to mention erotic encounters with the beautiful Russian dancer, Sasha de Lisse—until her adventure reaches its steamy end in the Turkish baths of Little Lonsdale Street. Tension and danger rise like steam, and Phryne must save herself and other young women before it's too late. Find these historical mystery series in Kindle books or in print—this lady detective will chase criminals to the end of the line!

Death by Misadventure

Death by Misadventure


  • Release: 1991-06-01
  • Publisher: Fawcett Books
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 176 page
  • ISBN: 0449147339
GET EBOOK

Spunky Phryne Fisher leaves her adopted London for 1920s Australia to investigate the desperate letters she has been receiving from well-bred Lydia, a young woman married to a low-down scoundrel

Cocaine Blues

Cocaine Blues


  • Release: 2011-05-24
  • Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 260 page
  • ISBN: 9781459621022
GET EBOOK

The first of Phryne's adventures from Australia's most elegant and irrepressible sleuth.The London season is in full fling at the end of the 1920s, but the Honourable Phryne Fisher - she of the green-grey eyes, diamant garters and outfits that should not be sprung suddenly on those of nervous dispositions - is rapidly tiring of the tedium of arranging flowers, making polite conversations with retired colonels, and dancing with weak-chinned men. Instead, Phryne decides it might be rather amusing to try her hand at being a lady detective in Melbourne, Australia. Almost immediately from the time she books into the Windsor Hotel, Phryne is embroiled in mystery: poisoned wives, cocaine smuggling rings, corrupt cops and communism - not to mention erotic encounters with the beautiful Russian dancer, Sasha de Lisse - until her adventure reaches its steamy end in the Turkish baths of Little Lonsdale Street.With Phryne Fisher, the indefatigable Greenwood has invented the character-you-fall-in-love-with genre.' The Australian

Rev  Gary Davis Blues Guitar

Rev Gary Davis Blues Guitar


  • Release: 1974-06-01
  • Publisher: Oak Publications
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 128 page
  • ISBN: 9781783234592
GET EBOOK

A unique biography and instruction book featuring the influential blues and roots talents of Rev. Gary Davis, in standard music notation and tablature with discography and photographs. Learn the secrets to the great blues player's techniques, and the distinctive harmonies that characterise the sound of this magical bygone era. Includes Two Step Candyman and Death Don't Have No Mercy.

Stefan Grossmans s Beginners  Fingerpicking Guitar

Stefan Grossmans s Beginners Fingerpicking Guitar


  • Release: 1996-05-31
  • Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 80 page
  • ISBN: 1576232808
GET EBOOK

Now available with CD, this classic book is the perfect introduction to fingerstyle solo guitar. It features 21 popular country-blues and ragtime songs set by Stefan Grossman, Happy Traum, Dave Van Ronk and John Fahey in entry-level fingerpicking arrangements. Includes: Delia * Death Comes Creepin' * John Henry * St. James Infirmary * Silent Night * Just a Closer Walk with Thee and more. In standard notation and tablature.

Masters of Instrumental Blues Guitar

Masters of Instrumental Blues Guitar


  • Release: 1968-06-01
  • Publisher: Oak Publications
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 78 page
  • ISBN: 9781783234738
GET EBOOK

From the preface: In order to study American folk guitar styles in depth, one is forced to turn to the country blues because nowhere else do recorded sources of instrumental folk guitar abound so profusely. It is in the blues that Negro musicians have explored and developed the finger style instrumental approach. Some of the exceptional blues masterpieces are assembled in this book along with the instruction necessary to play them.

Cocaine True  Cocaine Blue

Cocaine True Cocaine Blue


  • Release: 1994
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 157 page
  • ISBN: UOM:39015032524343
GET EBOOK

A compelling portrait of three communities penetrated by drugs and isolation: East New York, North Philadelphia, and the Red Hook housing projects in Brooklyn, New York. With a chilling and informative afterword by Dr. Stephen W. Nicholas, who works as a pediatric AIDS physician in Harlem, Cocaine True, Cocaine Blue reveals how first steps toward solutions to overcome the drug trade have actually contributed to public denial and further isolation of the trapped communities. Cocaine True, Cocaine Blue is a history of our times, a compelling, terrifying document that will educate us and promote dialogue, a first step toward affecting change.

Pop Cult

Pop Cult


  • Release: 2010-09-30
  • Publisher: A&C Black
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 230 page
  • ISBN: 9781441197245
GET EBOOK

At a time when fundamentalism is on the rise, traditional religions are in decline and postmodernity has challenged any system that claims to be all-defining, young people have left their traditional places of worship and set up their own, in clubs, at festivals and within music culture. Pop Cults investigates the ways in which popular music and its surrounding culture have become a primary site for the location of meaning, belief and identity. It provides an introduction to the history of the interactions of vernacular music and religion, and the role of music in religious culture. Rupert Till explores the cults of heavy metal, pop stars, club culture and virtual popular music worlds, investigating the sex, drug, local and death cults of the sacred popular, and their relationships with traditional religions. He concludes by discussing how and why popular music cultures have taken on many of the roles of traditional religions in contemporary society.