Daughters of the Resistance

Daughters of the Resistance


  • Release: 2021-04-16
  • Publisher: HarperCollins UK
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 384 page
  • ISBN: 9780008364885
GET EBOOK

A heart-wrenching novel of love, resilience and courage in World War II, from the author of Sisters of War – perfect for readers who loved The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The German Midwife.

The Light of Days

The Light of Days


  • Release: 2021-04-15
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 576 page
  • ISBN: 9780349011554
GET EBOOK

'Original and compelling, an untold story of rare and captivating power' Philippe Sands 'A fascinating history about a little-known group who took on the Nazis . . . The individual tales of these courageous young women are remarkable' Independent One of the most important untold stories of World War II, The Light of Days is a soaring landmark history that brings to light the extraordinary accomplishments of brave Jewish women who inspired Poland's Jewish youth groups to resist the Nazis. Witnesses to the brutal murder of their families and the violent destruction of their communities, a cadre of Jewish women in Poland - some still in their teens - became the heart of a wide-ranging resistance network that fought the Nazis. With courage, guile and nerves of steel, these 'ghetto girls' smuggled guns in loaves of bread and coded intelligence messages in their plaited hair. They helped build life-saving systems of underground bunkers and sustained thousands of Jews in safe hiding places. They bribed Gestapo guards with liquor, assassinated Nazis and sabotaged German supply lines. The Light of Days at last reveals the real history of these incredible women whose courageous yet little-known feats have been eclipsed by time.

Santer  a  Vodou and Resistance in Caribbean Literature

Santer a Vodou and Resistance in Caribbean Literature


  • Release: 2019-02-25
  • Publisher: Legenda
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 206 page
  • ISBN: 1781887020
GET EBOOK

African-derived religious traditions like Santería and Vodou have long been a site of political, cultural and social resistance in the Caribbean. Through his focus on the body as the juncture between the physical and spiritual planes, Humphrey's analysis of a number of Caribbean novels and plays foregrounds the complex nature of women's negotiation of religious, social and political life as participants in these marginalized religious communities. Examining works from authors such as Cuban playwright Eugenio Hernández Espinosa (1936-), Haitian novelists Kettly Mars (1958-) and Marie Chauvet (1916-1973), and Cuban-Puerto Rican writer Mayra Montero (1952-), he demonstrates the manner in which the worldviews offered by Santería and Vodou permit the divisions within and between concepts such as gender, sexuality, womanhood, space and nation to be transcended. As a result, not only do these narratives resist and subvert hegemonic and patriarchal discourses, but also provide a means through which the voice of the marginalized can be heard. Paul Humphrey is Assistant Professor in World Languages and Cultures at Monmouth University, New Jersey.

White Walls

White Walls


  • Release: 2016-01-05
  • Publisher: Berkley
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 341 page
  • ISBN: 9780451473110
GET EBOOK

Judy Batalion grew up in a house filled with endless piles of junk, obsessively gathered and stored by her hoarder mother. The first chance she had, she escaped the clutter to create a new identity - one made of order, regimen and clean white walls. Until, one day, she found herself enmeshed in life's biggest chaos: motherhood. Told with heartbreaking honesty and humour, this is Judy's poignant account of her trials negotiating the messiness of motherhood and the indelible marks that mothers and daughters make on each other's lives.

The Carhullan Army

The Carhullan Army


  • Release: 2010-11-25
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 80 page
  • ISBN: 9780571267620
GET EBOOK

The world has changed. War rages in South America and China, and Britain - now entirely dependent on the US for food and energy - is run by an omnipresent dictatorship known simply as The Authority. Assets and weapons have been seized, and women are compulsorily fitted with contraceptive devices. This is Sister's story of her attempt to escape the repressive regime. From the confines of her Lancaster prison cell she tells of her search for The Carhullan Army, a quasi-mythical commune of 'unofficial' women rumoured to be living in a remote part of Cumbria . . .

Crafting Dissent

Crafting Dissent


  • Release: 2019-10-15
  • Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 312 page
  • ISBN: 9781538118405
GET EBOOK

Pussyhats, typically crafted with yarn, quite literally created a sea of pink the day after Donald J. Trump became the 45th president of the United States in January 2017, as the inaugural Women’s March unfolded throughout the U.S., and sister cities globally. But there was nothing new about women crafting as a means of dissent. Crafting Dissent: Handicraft as Protest from the American Revolution to the Pussyhats is the first book that demonstrates how craft, typically involving the manipulation of yarn, thread and fabric, has also been used as a subversive tool throughout history and up to the present day, to push back against government policy and social norms that crafters perceive to be harmful to them, their bodies, their families, their ideals relating to equality and human rights, and their aspirations. At the heart of the book is an exploration for how craft is used by citizens to engage with the rhetoric and policy shaping their country’s public sphere. The book is divided into three sections: "Crafting Histories," Politics of Craft," and "Crafting Cultural Conversations." Three features make this a unique contribution to the field of craft activism and history: The inclusion of diverse contributors from a global perspective (including from England, Ireland, India, New Zealand, Australia) Essay formats including photo essays, personal essays and scholarly investigations The variety of professional backgrounds among the book’s contributors, including academics, museum curators, art therapists, small business owners, provocateurs, artists and makers. This book explains that while handicraft and craft-motivated activism may appear to be all the rage and “of the moment,” a long thread reveals its roots as far back as the founding of American Democracy, and at key turning points throughout the history of nations throughout the world.