If I Have to Tell You One More Time

If I Have to Tell You One More Time


  • Release: 2012
  • Publisher: TarcherPerigee
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 298 page
  • ISBN: 9780399160592
GET EBOOK

Draws on the author's Positive Parenting Solutions online course to explain how to correct negative behaviors in children, introducing the psychological theories of Alfred Adler on using empowerment to promote healthy child development.

If I Have to Tell You One More Time

If I Have to Tell You One More Time


  • Release: 2011-08-04
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 320 page
  • ISBN: 9781101517604
GET EBOOK

The Revolutionary Program That Gets Your Kids To Listen Without Nagging, Reminding, or Yelling Why does it feel sometimes as if our children have special powers that enable them to tune us out completely? You ask your child to do her homework, get ready for school or bedtime. You think she heard you but . . . no response. You’ve tried everything—time-outs, nagging, counting to three—and nothing seems to work. In this invaluable book, Amy McCready, founder of the popular online parenting course Positive Parenting Solutions, presents a nag-and-scream-free program for compassionately yet effectively, correcting your children’s bad behavior. McCready draws on Adlerian psychology and Positive Discipline, which focuses on the central idea that every human being has a basic need to feel connected and empowered—children being no exception to the rule. According to McCready, when this need isn’t met in positive ways, kids resort to negative methods. In this book she provides parents with a virtual toolbox of strategies they can use to give their children the attention and power they crave—and do away with the misbehaving that adults dread.

If I Could Tell You Just One Thing

If I Could Tell You Just One Thing


  • Release: 2016-11-03
  • Publisher: Canongate Books
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 368 page
  • ISBN: 9781782119234
GET EBOOK

Richard Reed built Innocent Drinks from a smoothie stall on a street corner to one of the biggest brands in Britain. He credits his success to four brilliant pieces of advice, each given to him just when he needed them most. Ever since, it has been Richard's habit, whenever he meets somebody he admires, to ask them for their best piece of advice. If they could tell him just one thing, what would it be? Richard has collected pearls of wisdom from some of the most remarkable, inspiring and game-changing people in the world - in business, tech, philanthropy, politics, sport, art, spirituality, medicine, film, and design. From Hollywood greats like Judi Dench and Richard Curtis, to entrepreneurial legends like Richard Branson and Simon Cowell; from sports stars and TV personalities like Andy Murray and James Cordon to political activists and born survivors like Mandela's Comrades and Katie Piper, Richard has picked some of the world's most interesting brains to give you a lesson in how to live, how to love, how to create and how to succeed.

The Me  Me  Me Epidemic

The Me Me Me Epidemic


  • Release: 2015-08-11
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 336 page
  • ISBN: 9780698158719
GET EBOOK

Cure your kids of the entitlement epidemic so they develop happier, more productive attitudes that will carry them into a successful adulthood. Whenever Amy McCready mentions the "entitlement epidemic" to a group of parents, she is inevitably met with eye rolls, nodding heads, and loaded comments about affected children. It seems everywhere one looks, there are preschoolers who only behave in the grocery store for a treat, narcissistic teenagers posting selfies across all forms of social media, and adult children living off their parents. Parenting expert McCready reveals in this book that the solution is to help kids develop healthy attitudes in life. By setting up limits with consequences and training them in responsible behavior and decision making, parents can rid their homes of the entitlement epidemic and raise confident, resilient, and successful children. Whether parents are starting from scratch with a young toddler or navigating the teen years, they will find in this book proven strategies to effectively quell entitled attitudes in their children.

If I Tell You

If I Tell You


  • Release: 2018-02-21
  • Publisher: Pantera Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 336 page
  • ISBN: 9781925700909
GET EBOOK

What if the secret is more damaging than the lie? I never planned on falling in love in Two Creeks, but since when has life ever followed a plan? The day I fell for Phoenix Stone, there was no warning. She shattered the world I knew. This is a story about being seventeen and growing up in rural Australia. Falling in love for the first time, following your dreams and disappointing your parents. Being brave enough to live your life, even when life is terrifying. In fear there is bravery – you can either cling to the edge or have the courage to jump. But what do you do when you’re left spiralling through the freefall? Be proud. Be seen. Live life fearlessly.

If I Loved You  I Would Tell You This

If I Loved You I Would Tell You This


  • Release: 2010-03-30
  • Publisher: Random House
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 288 page
  • ISBN: 9780679603689
GET EBOOK

FINALIST FOR THE FRANK O’CONNOR SHORT STORY AWARD NOW WITH AN ADDITIONAL STORY. Heralding the arrival of a stunning new voice in American fiction, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This takes readers into the minds and hearts of people navigating the unsettling transitions that life presents to us all: A father struggles to forge an independent identity as his blind daughter prepares for college. A mother comes to terms with her adult daughter’s infidelity. An artist mourns the end of a romance while painting the portrait of a dying man. Brilliant, hopeful, and fearlessly honest, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This illuminates the truths of human relationships, truths we come to recognize in these characters and in ourselves. BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Robin Black's Life Drawing. Look for the If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This discussion guide inside. Praise for If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This “I want to shout about how just when you thought no one could write a story with any tinge of freshness let alone originality about childhood. . . about marriage . . . about old age, Black has done it. . . . Black delivers real emotion, the kind that gives you pause. . . . Will Robin Black win [the Pen/Hemingway Prize] for this book? If I were a judge, she would.”—Alan Cheuse, Chicago Tribune “Pitch-perfect . . . so deft, so understated, and so compelling that you have to slow down to savor each vignette. . . . Fans of Mary Gaitskill, Amy Bloom, and Miranda July will feel like they’ve found gold in a river when they discover Robin Black. . . . [A] writer to watch.”—O: The Oprah Magazine “Each story reads like a mini-novel . . . worlds are contained in a single page. And the writing . . . oh, the writing . . . There’s no narrative cohesion, no point. Rather, If I Loved You is a ‘Fantastic Voyage’ into the bloodstream of the human species. . . . Maybe it’s midlife maturity, maybe it’s raw talent, but If I Loved You leaves

The Glass Castle

The Glass Castle


  • Release: 2006-01-02
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 368 page
  • ISBN: 9781416544661
GET EBOOK

Journalist Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary and their four children lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary painted and wrote and couldn't stand the responsibility of providing for her family. When the money ran out, the Walls retreated to the dismal West Virginia mining town Rex had tried to escape. As the dysfunction escalated, the children had to fend for themselves, supporting one another as they found the resources and will to leave home. Yet Walls describes her parents with deep affection in this tale of unconditional love in a family that, despite its profound flaws, gave her the fiery determination to carve out a successful life. -- From publisher description.

How to Talk So Kids Will Listen   Listen So Kids Will Talk

How to Talk So Kids Will Listen Listen So Kids Will Talk


  • Release: 1999-10
  • Publisher: Harper Collins
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 286 page
  • ISBN: 0380811960
GET EBOOK

The twentieth anniversary edition of the best-selling parenting guide includes updated information as well as the practical, sensible advice that made the book a classic to begin with. Original. 44,000 first printing.

The Road

The Road


  • Release: 2007-03-20
  • Publisher: Vintage
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 256 page
  • ISBN: 9780307267450
GET EBOOK

NATIONAL BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE The searing, post-apocalyptic novel about a father and son's fight to survive. A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don't know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food—and each other. The Road is the profoundly moving story of a journey. It boldly imagines a future in which no hope remains, but in which the father and his son, "each the other's world entire," are sustained by love. Awesome in the totality of its vision, it is an unflinching meditation on the worst and the best that we are capable of: ultimate destructiveness, desperate tenacity, and the tenderness that keeps two people alive in the face of total devastation. A New York Times Notable Book One of the Best Books of the Year The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Denver Post, The Kansas City Star, Los Angeles Times, New York, People, Rocky Mountain News, Time, The Village Voice, The Washington Post

Positive Parenting

Positive Parenting


  • Release: 2016-06-07
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 208 page
  • ISBN: 9781101992203
GET EBOOK

"This is a must-read for every family that yearns to create peace and harmony.” --Shefali Tsabary, Ph.D., New York Times bestselling author of The Conscious Parent Tired of yelling and nagging? True family connection is possible--and this essential guide shows us how. Popular parenting blogger Rebecca Eanes believes that parenting advice should be about more than just getting kids to behave. Struggling to maintain a meaningful connection with her two little ones and frustrated by the lack of emotionally aware books for parents, she began to share her own insights with readers online. Her following has grown into a thriving community--hundreds of thousands strong. In this eagerly anticipated guide, Eanes shares her hard-won wisdom for overcoming limiting thought patterns and recognizing emotional triggers, as well as advice for connecting with kids at each stage, from infancy to adolescence. This heartfelt, insightful advice comes not from an "expert," but from a learning, evolving parent. Filled with practical, solution-oriented advice, this is an empowering guide for any parent who longs to end the yelling, power struggles, and downward spiral of acting out, punishment, resentment, and shame--and instead foster an emotional connection that helps kids learn self-discipline, feel confident, and create lasting, loving bonds.