The Dark Light of Day

The Dark Light of Day


  • Release: 2017-10-15
  • Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 312 page
  • ISBN: 1978250762
GET EBOOK

WARNING: This is NOT your typical romance. The story of Jake & Abby contains disturbing situations, graphic violence, sex, strong language, drug use, and all types of abuse. Homeless, sleeping in a junkyard, and on the run from a system that has failed her over and over again, Abby meets Jake, a tattooed blue-eyed biker with secrets that rival her own. Two broken souls that can't be healed, they can't be saved. Abby and Jake have to decide if they can accept the darkness not only within one another, but within themselves. If they can accept each other for who they really are they might learn that love isn't always found in the light...

Light of Day

Light of Day


  • Release: 2015-11-24
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 320 page
  • ISBN: 9780062303493
GET EBOOK

From the author of On the Edge and Snitch comes a dangerous, sexy novel perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles. When Gabby Perez is almost drugged at a nightclub, she decides to take action. Teaming up with a mysterious stranger known as X, the two go after a gang who is drugging and kidnapping innocent girls off the Miami streets and forcing them into prostitution. As their search deepens, Gabby and X can't ignore their undeniable attraction to each other. Then Gabby discovers the truth about who X really is and the danger that surrounds him. Can their love survive the light of day? Light of Day is set in the same world as On the Edge (readers will recognize some of their favorite characters in this book) and features a diverse cast. With romance, action, and realistic friendships, this is a gripping story about finding out where you belong, discovering the power to make a difference, and finding true love along the way.

Clear Light of Day

Clear Light of Day


  • Release: 2014-05-13
  • Publisher: HMH
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 192 page
  • ISBN: 9780547526294
GET EBOOK

Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize: A “rich, Chekhovian novel” about family and forgiveness from the acclaimed author of Fire on the Mountain (The New Yorker). At the heart of this “wonderful” novel are the moving relationships between the estranged members of the Das family (The Washington Post Book World). Bimla is a dissatisfied but ambitious teacher at a women’s college who lives in her childhood home, where she cares for her mentally challenged brother, Baba. Tara is her younger, unambitious sister, married and with children of her own. Raja is their popular, brilliant, and successful brother. When Tara returns for a visit with Bimla and Baba, old memories and tensions resurface, blending into a domestic drama that leads to beautiful and profound moments of self-understanding. Set in the vividly portrayed environs of Old Delhi, “Clear Light of Day does what only the very best novels can do: it totally submerges us. It also takes us so deeply into another world that we almost fear we won’t be able to climb out again” (The New York Times Book Review). “Passages must be read and reread so that you savor their imagery, their language, and their wisdom.” —The Washington Post Book World “[A] thoroughly universal tale of unhealable family hurts . . . Distinctively shaded with enticing glimpses of India’s Hindu middle-class in shabby decline.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

The Light of Days

The Light of Days


  • Release: 2021-04-06
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 576 page
  • ISBN: 9780062874238
GET EBOOK

One of the most important stories of World War II, already optioned by Steven Spielberg for a major motion picture: a spectacular, searing history that brings to light the extraordinary accomplishments of brave Jewish women who became resistance fighters—a group of unknown heroes whose exploits have never been chronicled in full, until now. Witnesses to the brutal murder of their families and neighbors and the violent destruction of their communities, a cadre of Jewish women in Poland—some still in their teens—helped transform the Jewish youth groups into resistance cells to fight the Nazis. With courage, guile, and nerves of steel, these “ghetto girls” paid off Gestapo guards, hid revolvers in loaves of bread and jars of marmalade, and helped build systems of underground bunkers. They flirted with German soldiers, bribed them with wine, whiskey, and home cooking, used their Aryan looks to seduce them, and shot and killed them. They bombed German train lines and blew up a town’s water supply. They also nursed the sick and taught children. Yet the exploits of these courageous resistance fighters have remained virtually unknown. As propulsive and thrilling as Hidden Figures, In the Garden of Beasts, Band of Brothers, and A Train in Winter, The Light of Days at last tells the true story of these incredible women whose courageous yet little-known feats have been eclipsed by time. Judy Batalion—the granddaughter of Polish Holocaust survivors—takes us back to 1939 and introduces us to Renia Kukielka, a weapons smuggler and messenger who risked death traveling across occupied Poland on foot and by train. Joining Renia are other women who served as couriers, armed fighters, intelligence agents, and saboteurs, all who put their lives in mortal danger to carry out their missions. Batalion follows these women through the savage destruction of the ghettos, arrest and internment in Gestapo prisons and concentration camps, and for a lucky few—like Renia, who orc

Cold Light of Day

Cold Light of Day


  • Release: 2014-11-16
  • Publisher: Toni Anderson
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 330 page
  • ISBN: 9780993908910
GET EBOOK

What happens when an FBI agent falls for the daughter of the most notorious spy in US history? Discover the explosive chemistry in this non-stop action Romantic Suspense! Physicist Scarlett Stone is the daughter of the most notorious Russian spy in FBI history. With her father dying in prison, time is running out. Using a false identity, she gains access to the Russian ambassador's Christmas party, searching for evidence to prove her father's innocence. Former Navy SEAL, now FBI Special Agent, Matt Lazlo, is instantly attracted to Scarlett but when he discovers she lied to him about her identity, he hunts her down with the ruthless efficiency he usually reserves for serial killers. Not only does Scarlett's scheme fail, it puts her in the sights of people who reward unwanted curiosity with brutality. The FBI—and Matt—aren't thrilled with her, either. As the agents involved in her father's investigation start dying, and the attempts to stop Scarlett intensify, Matt and his colleagues begin to wonder. Could they have a traitor in their midst? Winner Readers' Choice Heart of Excellence for Romantic Suspense, and the Book Buyers Best Award. This edition features a brand-new cover. A Cold Dark Place, #1 (Read for free!) Cold Pursuit, #2 Cold Light of Day, #3 Cold Fear, #4 Cold in The Shadows, #5 Cold Hearted, #6 Cold Secrets, #7 Cold Malice, #8 A Cold Dark Promise, #9 (Wedding Novella) The Cold Justice Series books are interconnected, but standalone, Romantic Thrillers whose stories center around agents from the FBI's BAU-4, and other spin-off characters from the books. No cliffhangers. All books are full-length Romantic Suspense novels (except for A Cold Dark Promise, which is a forty-thousand-word wedding novella with a Cold Justice Series twist). Keywords: Toni Anderson, Cold Justice, Cold Justice Series, FBI thriller, Romantic Thriller, Suspense Thrillers, FBI Romance, law enforcement hero, Mystery, Romance Series, dark, Assassin, sexy heroes, conspiracy, redempti

The Light of Day

The Light of Day


  • Release: 2007-12-18
  • Publisher: Vintage
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 336 page
  • ISBN: 9780307428929
GET EBOOK

On the anniversary of a life-shattering event, George Webb, a former policeman turned private detective, revisits the catastrophes of his past and reaffirms the extraordinary direction of his future. Two years before, an assignment to follow a strayed husband and his mistress appeared simple enough, but this routine job left George a transformed man. Suspenseful, moving, and hailed by critics as a detective story unlike any other, The Light of Day is a gripping tale of murder and redemption, as well as a bold exploration of love and self-discovery. This powerful novel signals yet another groundbreaking achievement from Graham Swift, the author of the Booker Prize-winning novel Last Orders.

The Clear Light of Day

The Clear Light of Day


  • Release: 2010-01-01
  • Publisher: David C Cook
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 304 page
  • ISBN: 9781434765918
GET EBOOK

Recently ordained and more recently divorced, Reverend Esme Browne finds herself at an uncomfortable crossroads when stationed at the Portland Road Chapel. In addition to the seaside town, she also now bears the spiritual responsibility for two country chapels, which should be exciting, invigorating, and even hopeful. Esme, however, has forgotten how to pray and, she fears, how to feel. A chance encounter with an eccentric pair of country gnostics may change all that, but she'll have to be willing to juggle the demands of the church, her parishes, and a bevy of well-intended but nosy neighbors.