A Long Way Gone

A Long Way Gone


  • Release: 2013-07-02
  • Publisher: Penguin Canada
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 240 page
  • ISBN: 9780143190363
GET EBOOK

At the age of twelve, Ishmael Beah fled attacking rebels in Sierra Leone and wandered a land rendered unrecognizable by violence. By thirteen, he'd been picked up by the government army, and Beah, at heart a gentle boy, found that he was capable of truly terrible acts. At sixteen, he was removed from fighting by UNICEF, and through the help of the staff at his rehabilitation center, he learned how to forgive himself, to regain his humanity, and, finally, to heal. This is an extraordinary and mesmerizing account, told with real literary force and heartbreaking honesty.

Radiance of Tomorrow

Radiance of Tomorrow


  • Release: 2014-01-07
  • Publisher: Penguin Canada
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 256 page
  • ISBN: 9780143191728
GET EBOOK

When Ishmael Beah’s A Long Way Gone was published in 2007, it soared to the top of bestseller lists, becoming an instant classic: a harrowing account of Sierra Leone’s civil war and the fate of child soldiers that “everyone in the world should read” (The Washington Post). Now Beah, whom Dave Eggers has called “arguably the most read African writer in contemporary literature,” has returned with his first novel, an affecting, tender parable about postwar life in Sierra Leone. At the centre of Radiance of Tomorrow are Benjamin and Bockarie, two longtime friends who return to their hometown, Imperi, after the civil war. The village is in ruins, the ground covered in bones. As more villagers begin to file back, Benjamin and Bockarie try to forge a new community by taking up their former posts as teachers, but they’re beset by obstacles: a scarcity of food; a rash of murders, thievery, rape, and retaliation; and the depredations of a foreign mining company intent on sullying the town’s water supply and blocking its paths with electric wires. As Benjamin and Bockarie search for a way to restore order, they’re forced to reckon with the pain of their past and the uncertainty of their future. With the gentle lyricism of a dream and the moral clarity of a fable, Radiance of Tomorrow is a powerful novel about preserving what means the most to us, even in uncertain times. It marks the start of an exciting new chapter for Ishmael Beah.

Long Way Gone

Long Way Gone


  • Release: 2016-10-04
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 320 page
  • ISBN: 9780718084721
GET EBOOK

For anyone who has ever longed to go home again, Long Way Gone is a radical retelling of the prodigal son story that takes us from tent revivals to the Ryman Auditorium to the tender relationship between a broken man and the father who never stopped calling him home. At the age of eighteen, musician and songwriter Cooper O’Connor took everything his father held dear and drove 1,200 miles from home to Nashville, his life riding on a six-string guitar and the bold wager that he had talent. But his wager soon proved foolish. Five years after losing everything, he falls in love with Daley Cross, an angelic voice in need of a song. But just as he realizes his love for Daley, Cooper faces a tragedy that threatens his life as well as his career. With nowhere else to go, he returns home to the remote Colorado mountains, searching for answers about his father and his faith. When Daley shows up on his street corner twenty years later, he wonders if it’s too late to tell her the truth about his past—and if he is ready to face it himself. Praise for Long Way Gone: “Cooper and Daley's story will make you believe that even broken instruments have songs to offer when they're in the right hands. Charles Martin never fails to ask and answer the questions that linger deep within all of us. In this beautifully told story of a prodigal coming home, readers will find the broken and mended pieces of their own hearts.” —Lisa Wingate, New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours “A beautiful story of redemption and love once lost but found again, Long Way Gone proves two things: music washes us from the inside out, and Charles Martin's words do the same.” —Billy Coffey, bestselling author of When Mockingbirds Sing and Steal Away Home “With his emotional plot arcs and deeply-developed characters, Charles Martin is a long-time fan-favorite . . . Martin weaves all the pieces of this story together with a beautiful musical thread, and as the final pieces fall i

A Death in Belmont

A Death in Belmont


  • Release: 2006-04-17
  • Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 288 page
  • ISBN: 0393077373
GET EBOOK

A fatal collision of three lives in the most intriguing and original crime story since In Cold Blood. In the spring of 1963, the quiet suburb of Belmont, Massachusetts, is rocked by a shocking sex murder that exactly fits the pattern of the Boston Strangler. Sensing a break in the case that has paralyzed the city of Boston, the police track down a black man, Roy Smith, who cleaned the victim's house that day and left a receipt with his name on the kitchen counter. Smith is hastily convicted of the Belmont murder, but the terror of the Strangler continues. On the day of the murder, Albert DeSalvo—the man who would eventually confess in lurid detail to the Strangler's crimes—is also in Belmont, working as a carpenter at the Jungers' home. In this spare, powerful narrative, Sebastian Junger chronicles three lives that collide—and ultimately are destroyed—in the vortex of one of the first and most controversial serial murder cases in America.

The Sound of Gravel

The Sound of Gravel


  • Release: 2016-01-05
  • Publisher: Flatiron Books
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 352 page
  • ISBN: 9781250077714
GET EBOOK

An instant New York Times bestseller “A haunting, harrowing testament to survival." — People Magazine “An addictive chronicle of a polygamist community.” — New York Magazine “Unforgettable” — Entertainment Weekly The thirty-ninth of her father’s forty-two children, Ruth Wariner grew up in polygamist family on a farm in rural Mexico. In The Sound of Gravel, she offers an unforgettable portrait of the violence that threatened her community, her family’s fierce sense of loyalty, and her own unshakeable belief in the possibility of a better life. An intimate, gripping tale of triumph and courage, The Sound of Gravel is a heart-stopping true story.

Black Man s Grave

Black Man s Grave


  • Release: 2007
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 223 page
  • ISBN: STANFORD:36105124079463
GET EBOOK

Was it really all about diamonds? Sierra Leone was ripe for revolution; the Revolutionary United Front just didn't know how to pull it off. Meet the greedy politicians who hijacked Sierra Leone's fledgling democracy, the rebels who brought them down, and the villagers of Fadugu who struggled to survive the country's chaotic descent into civil war.

Outrun the Moon

Outrun the Moon


  • Release: 2016-05-24
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 400 page
  • ISBN: 9780698198043
GET EBOOK

From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity. San Francisco, 1906: Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty of Chinatown, and an education at St. Clare’s School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare’s is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong—until disaster strikes. On April 18, a historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy’s home and school. Now she’s forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Though fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, Mercy can’t sit by while they wait for the army to bring help—she still has the “bossy” cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenage girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city? Stacey Lee masterfully crafts another remarkable novel set against a unique historical backdrop. Strong-willed Mercy Wong leads a cast of diverse characters in this extraordinary tale of survival. From the Hardcover edition.

The Last Wish

The Last Wish


  • Release: 2008-12-14
  • Publisher: Orbit
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 384 page
  • ISBN: 9780316055086
GET EBOOK

Geralt the Witcher -- revered and hated -- holds the line against the monsters plaguing humanity in this collection of adventures in the New York Times bestselling series that inspired the Netflix show and the hit video games. Geralt is a Witcher, a man whose magic powers, enhanced by long training and a mysterious elixir, have made him a brilliant fighter and a merciless assassin. Yet he is no ordinary murderer: his targets are the multifarious monsters and vile fiends that ravage the land and attack the innocent. But not everything monstrous-looking is evil and not everything fair is good. . .and in every fairy tale there is a grain of truth. The Last Wish story collection is the perfect introduction to a one of a kind fantasy world. And look out for The Tower of Fools, book one of Andrzej Sapkowski's Hussite Trilogy, coming in October 2020!

Natural Killer

Natural Killer


  • Release: 2020-12-29
  • Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 304 page
  • ISBN: 9780771049248
GET EBOOK

"I need people to know that I exist, that their experiment worked, that by some combination of luck and science, I'm alive." In this harrowing and intimate memoir, Harriet Alida Lye explores how, at just fifteen years old, she was diagnosed with a form of leukemia called Natural Killer, named "the rarest and worst malignancy." The average survival time of patients with this diagnosis is fifty-eight days. There are no known survivors. There were no known survivors. Fifteen years after Harriet's diagnosis, she became pregnant, despite having been told that her chemotherapy treatment would likely make conception impossible. To be a mother is to make a death, as death is bound up in life. She knew her body had the ability to create death. She never trusted, was told to not even imagine, that it also had the power, that magical banality, to create life. Weaving in source material from the year she spent in hospital, written by both of her parents and her teenage self, this personal reflection is told through a seamless blend of narrative, snapshots, journal entries, and blog updates posted for friends and family. With probing lyricism and searing honesty, Natural Killer explores what it's like to live with a life-threatening illness and survive it; what it means for a body to turn against itself, to self-destruct from within; and what it takes to regain trust in a body that has committed the ultimate betrayal.

Pet Sematary

Pet Sematary


  • Release: 2017-01-31
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 560 page
  • ISBN: 9781501156700
GET EBOOK

A family moves into a beautiful old home in rural Maine, not realizing the horror that awaits them from the pet cemetery and Indian burial ground behind the house.