Scary Close

Scary Close


  • Release: 2015-02-10
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 256 page
  • ISBN: 9781400203970
GET EBOOK

After decades of failed relationships and painful drama, Donald Miller decided he’d had enough. Impressing people wasn’t helping him connect with anyone. He’d built a life of public isolation, yet he dreamed of meaningful relationships. So at forty years old he made a scary decision: to be himself no matter what it cost. From the author of Blue Like Jazz comes a book about the risk involved in choosing to impress fewer people and connect with more, about the freedom that comes when we stop acting and start loving. It is a story about knocking down old walls to create a healthy mind, a strong family, and a satisfying career. And it all feels like a conversation with the best kind of friend: smart, funny, true, important. Scary Close is Donald Miller at his best.

Scary Close  International Edition

Scary Close International Edition


  • Release: 2015-01-19
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 256 page
  • ISBN: 0718035674
GET EBOOK

When fling after fling led to lots of drama and a long series of heartaches, Donald Miller decided he'd had enough. There must be a better way to soothe loneliness without jumping on a roller coaster, to feel affirmation without putting on a show, to find true love. It wasn't just about finding the right girl, though that helped. Once he found her, he had to know what to do or "who to be." A manipulative control freak? A successful workaholic? His usual methods had drawbacks. But the alternatives were not just hard to do; they were hard to imagine. Nevertheless, at forty years old he made a scary decision: to be himself no matter what it cost.

Searching for God Knows What

Searching for God Knows What


  • Release: 2010-05-24
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 272 page
  • ISBN: 9781418529956
GET EBOOK

In Searching for God Knows What, best-selling author Donald Miller invites you to reconnect with a faith worth believing. With humor, intelligence, and his trademark writing style, he shows that relationship is God’s way of leading us to redemption. And our need for redemption drives us to relationship with God. “Being a Christian,” Miller writes, “is more like falling in love than understanding a series of ideas.” Maybe you are a Christian wondering what faith you signed up for. Or maybe you don’t believe anything and are daring someone—anyone—to show you a genuine example of authentic faith. Somewhere beyond the self-help formulas, fancy marketing, and easy promises there is a life-changing experience with God waiting. Searching for God Knows What weaves together beautiful stories and fresh perspectives on the Bible to show one man’s journey to find it. “Like a shaken snow globe, Donald Miller’s newest collection of essays creates a swirl of ideas about the Christian life that eventually crystallize into a lovely landscape . . . [He] is one of the evangelical book market’s most creative writers.” —Christianity Today “If you have felt that Jesus is someone you respect and admire—but Christianity is something that repels you—Searching for God Knows What will give you hope that you still can follow Jesus and be part of a church without the trappings of organized religion.” —Dan Kimball Author of The Emerging Church and Pastor of Vintage Faith Church, Santa Cruz, CA “For fans of Blue Like Jazz, I doubt you will be disappointed. Donald Miller writes with the wit and vulnerability that you expect. He perfectly illustrates important themes in a genuine and humorous manner . . . For those who would be reading Miller for the first time, this would be a great start.” —Relevant

Don t Stand So Close to Me

Don t Stand So Close to Me


  • Release: 2020-06-02
  • Publisher: Orca Book Publishers
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 128 page
  • ISBN: 9781459827899
GET EBOOK

Thirteen-year-old Quinn and her friends can't believe their luck when spring break is extended an extra two weeks—even if it's because of some virus. But when the impact of the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic becomes apparent, everyone, not just the students, has to learn to adjust to their new reality. Quinn’s father is an ER doctor and has to self-isolate to protect his family from the virus. Isaac’s mother is the chief of police and now has to enforce new physical-distancing bylaws. Reese can’t visit her grandmother in her care home anymore. And their entire school has moved to online classes. Sacrifices have to be made to keep everyone safe, but there’s more to life than rules and scary news reports. In an effort to find some good in all this uncertainty, Quinn comes up with an idea that she hopes will bring the entire community together.

Blue Like Jazz

Blue Like Jazz


  • Release: 2012-04
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson Inc
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 243 page
  • ISBN: 9781400204588
GET EBOOK

A popular minister recounts his zealous early life pursuit of the Christian life and his experiences of emptiness and spiritual detachment, tracing his quest to connect with a God he perceived as distant.

Behind Closed Doors

Behind Closed Doors


  • Release: 2016-08-09
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 336 page
  • ISBN: 9781250121011
GET EBOOK

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING DEBUT PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER YOU CAN'T MISS! The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie? “A hair-raising debut, both unsettling and addictive...A chilling thriller that will keep you reading long into the night.” —Mary Kubica, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Good Girl “This is one readers won’t be able to put down.” —Booklist (starred review) "A can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” —Library Journal (starred review) “This debut is guaranteed to haunt you...Warning: brace yourself.” —Bustle (10 New Thrillers to Read This Summer) “The sense of believably and terror that engulfs Behind Closed Doors doesn't waver.” —The Associated Press, picked up by The Washington Post “This was one of the best and most terrifying psychological thrillers I have ever read.” —San Francisco Book Review Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth; she has charm and elegance. He’s a dedicated attorney who has never lost a case; she is a flawless homemaker, a masterful gardener and cook, and dotes on her disabled younger sister. Though they are still newlyweds, they seem to have it all. You might not want to like them, but you do. You’re hopelessly charmed by the ease and comfort of their home, by the graciousness of the dinner parties they throw. You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are inseparable. Some might call this true love. Others might wonder why Grace never answers the phone. Or why she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. Or why she never seems to take anything with her when she leaves the house, not even a pen. Or why there are such high-security metal shutters on all the downstairs windows. Some might wonder what’s really going on once the dinner party is over, and the front door has closed. From

Who s Pulling Your Strings   How to Break the Cycle of Manipulation and Regain Control of Your Life

Who s Pulling Your Strings How to Break the Cycle of Manipulation and Regain Control of Your Life


  • Release: 2003-09-22
  • Publisher: McGraw Hill Professional
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 256 page
  • ISBN: 0071435689
GET EBOOK

A powerful program to stop manipulators in their tracks In Who's Pulling Your Strings?, Dr. Harriet B. Braiker, New York Times bestselling author of The Disease to Please, explains how depression, low self-esteem, anger, and feelings of helplessness can be caused by relationships with manipulative people. She exposes the most common methods of manipulators, and with the help of selfassessment quizzes, action plans, and how-to exercises, she helps you recognize and end the manipulative cycle for good.

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years


  • Release: 2009-09-28
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 288 page
  • ISBN: 9781418585877
GET EBOOK

After writing a successful memoir, Donald Miller's life stalled. During what should have been the height of his success, he found himself unwilling to get out of bed, avoiding responsibility, even questioning the meaning of life. But when two movie producers proposed turning his memoir into a movie, he found himself launched into a new story filled with risk, possibility, beauty, and meaning. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years chronicles Miller's rare opportunity to edit his life into a great story, to reinvent himself so nobody shrugs their shoulders when the credits roll. Through heart-wrenching honesty and hilarious self-inspection, Donald Miller takes readers through the life that emerges when it turns from boring reality into meaningful narrative. Miller goes from sleeping all day to riding his bike across America, from living in romantic daydreams to fearful encounters with love, from wasting his money to founding a nonprofit with a passionate cause. Guided by a host of outlandish but very real characters, Miller shows us how to get a second chance at life the first time around. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years is a rare celebration of the beauty of life.

Haunted Canada 4  More True Tales of Terror

Haunted Canada 4 More True Tales of Terror


  • Release: 2014-08-01
  • Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 128 page
  • ISBN: 9781443133777
GET EBOOK

The popular series of Canadian ghost stories is back and scarier than ever! The ghoulishly good fourth book in the Haunted Canada series is full of more than 25 sinister, unsettling, and absolutely true ghost stories from across the country. Settle in for an evening of hair-raising thrills and chills! Bram Stoker Award-nominee Joel A. Sutherland brings a fresh approach to this favourite scary series.

The Haunting of Hill House

The Haunting of Hill House


  • Release: 2013-10-01
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 288 page
  • ISBN: 9781101663004
GET EBOOK

The greatest haunted house story ever written, the inspiration for a 10-part Netflix series directed by Mike Flanagan and starring Michiel Huisman, Carla Gugino, and Timothy Hutton First published in 1959, Shirley Jackson's The Haunting of Hill House has been hailed as a perfect work of unnerving terror. It is the story of four seekers who arrive at a notoriously unfriendly pile called Hill House: Dr. Montague, an occult scholar looking for solid evidence of a "haunting"; Theodora, his lighthearted assistant; Eleanor, a friendless, fragile young woman well acquainted with poltergeists; and Luke, the future heir of Hill House. At first, their stay seems destined to be merely a spooky encounter with inexplicable phenomena. But Hill House is gathering its powers—and soon it will choose one of them to make its own. For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.