The Cats from Summer Island

The Cats from Summer Island


  • Release: 1963
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 48 page
  • ISBN: PSU:000033673516
GET EBOOK

The holidays were at an end, and the nine kittens adopted by the summer people have grown up but will be left behind, and, as old Moses warns them, over the winter, they will starve to death. But Gretchen, who raised Rosamundus from a kitten, overheard the cats' worries and promised them she would help them stow away on the steamer bound for the mainland. Then she will help them find homes.

Summer Island

Summer Island


  • Release: 2002-06-25
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 336 page
  • ISBN: 0345459520
GET EBOOK

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The author of the cherished bestseller On Mystic Lake returns with a poignant, funny, luminous novel about a mother and daughter--the complex ties that bind them, the past that separates them, and the healing that comes with forgiveness. “[Kristin] Hannah is superb at delving into the characters' psyches and delineating nuances of feeling.”—Washington Post Book World Years ago, Nora Bridge walked out on her marriage and left her daughters behind. She has since become a famous radio talk-show host and newspaper columnist beloved for her moral advice. Her youngest daughter, Ruby, is a struggling comedienne who uses her famous mother as fuel for her bitter, cynical humor. When the tabloids unearth a scandalous secret from Nora's past, their estrangement suddenly becomes dramatic: Nora is injured in an accident and a glossy magazine offers Ruby a fortune to write a tell-all about her mother. Under false pretenses, Ruby returns home to take care of the woman she hasn't spoken to for almost a decade. Nora insists they retreat to Summer Island in the San Juans, to the lovely old house on the water where Ruby grew up, a place filled with childhood memories of love and joy and belonging. There Ruby is also reunited with her first love and his brother. Once, the three of them had been best friends, inseparable. Until the summer that Nora had left and everyone's hearts had been broken. . . . What began as an expose evolves, as Ruby writes, into an exploration of her family's past. Nora is not the woman Ruby has hated all these years. Witty, wise, and vulnerable, she is desperate to reconcile with her daughter. As the magazine deadline draws near and Ruby finishes what has begun to seem to her an act of brutal betrayal, she is forced to grow up and at last to look at her mother--and herself--through the eyes of a woman. And she must, finally, allow herself to love. Summer Island is a beautiful novel, funny, tender, sad, and ultimately triumph

The Summer Island Swap

The Summer Island Swap


  • Release: 2020-05-07
  • Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 320 page
  • ISBN: 9781838930783
GET EBOOK

'A charming story' Lucy Coleman, bestselling author of Summer in Provence 'Full of warmth' Maggie Conway Sometimes the best holidays are the ones you least expect... After a long and turbulent year, Sarah is dreaming of the five-star getaway her sister has booked them on. White sands, cocktails, massages, the Caribbean is calling to them. But the sisters turn up to tatty beaches, basic wooden shacks, a compost toilet and outdoor cold water showers. It turns out that at the last minute Amy decided a conservation project would be much more fun than a luxury resort. So now Sarah's battling mosquitos, trying to stomach fish soup and praying for a swift escape. Life on a desert island though isn't all doom and gloom. They're at one with nature, learning about each other and making new friends. And Sarah is distracted by the dishy, yet incredibly moody, island leader she's sure is hiding a secret. Perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Mandy Baggot and Heidi Swain. Praise for The Summer Island Swap: 'Another page turner from this extremely talented writer' Amazon reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'A fabulous read and one I would definitely recommend' Amazon reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'This is a heartwarming story of discovery and acceptance that left me with a big smile on my face' Amazon reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'If the film The Holiday was set in the Caribbean, The Summer Island Swap would be the result' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'The perfect read for summer' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'A brilliant and sunshine-filled read that I loved from beginning to end' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The Summer Island Festival

The Summer Island Festival


  • Release: 2021-03-04
  • Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 416 page
  • ISBN: 9781800241145
GET EBOOK

When Willow walks out on her own wedding, there's only one place she can go: Seaview village, on the island she once called home. But she's not the only islander back for the summer...

Caterpillar Summer

Caterpillar Summer


  • Release: 2019-04-02
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 256 page
  • ISBN: 9781681197449
GET EBOOK

This beautifully written, emotional debut perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt or Ali Benjamin tells the story a girl, her special needs brother, and the summer they will never forget. "An engaging, honest book." --Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, Newbery Honor-winning author of The War That Saved My Life "A beautiful story of family, forgiveness, life on an island, and growing up.”--Kate Messner, author of Breakout and The Seventh Wish Cat and her brother Chicken have always had a very special bond--Cat is one of the few people who can keep Chicken happy. When he has a "meltdown" she's the one who scratches his back and reads his favorite story. She's the one who knows what Chicken needs. Since their mom has had to work double-hard to keep their family afloat after their father passed away, Cat has been the glue holding her family together. But even the strongest glue sometimes struggles to hold. When a summer trip doesn't go according to plan, Cat and Chicken end up spending three weeks with grandparents they never knew. For the first time in years, Cat has the opportunity to be a kid again, and the journey she takes shows that even the most broken or strained relationships can be healed if people take the time to walk in one another's shoes. An Indies Introduce Pick A Parents Best Book of the Year A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year An Amazon Best Book of the Year