The Forgotten Room

The Forgotten Room


  • Release: 2016-01-19
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 384 page
  • ISBN: 9780698191013
GET EBOOK

New York Times bestselling authors Karen White, Beatriz Williams, and Lauren Willig present a masterful collaboration—a rich, multigenerational novel of love and loss that spans half a century.... 1945: When critically wounded Captain Cooper Ravenel is brought to a private hospital on Manhattan’s Upper East Side, young Dr. Kate Schuyler is drawn into a complex mystery that connects three generations of women in her family to a single extraordinary room in a Gilded Age mansion. Who is the woman in Captain Ravenel’s miniature portrait who looks so much like Kate? And why is she wearing the ruby pendant handed down to Kate by her mother? In their pursuit of answers, they find themselves drawn into the turbulent stories of Olive Van Alan, driven in the Gilded Age from riches to rags, who hired out as a servant in the very house her father designed, and Lucy Young, who in the Jazz Age came from Brooklyn to Manhattan seeking the father she had never known. But are Kate and Cooper ready for the secrets that will be revealed in the Forgotten Room? READERS GUIDE INCLUDED

The Forgotten Room

The Forgotten Room


  • Release: 2016-05-31
  • Publisher: Anchor
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 400 page
  • ISBN: 9780307473752
GET EBOOK

Enigmalogist Jeremy Logan who specializes in investigating inexplicable phenomena probes strange happenings at the Newport, RI, mansion that houses the Symposikon think tank.

The Forgotten Room

The Forgotten Room


  • Release: 2013-02-23
  • Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 168 page
  • ISBN: 1482582872
GET EBOOK

'The Secret Garden,' written by Frances Hodgson Burnett and published in 1911, has been beloved by generations. Made into a stage play and numerous movies, this enchanting story remains a popular classic today. 'The Forgotten Room' begins a few months after the original concludes, continuing the stories of Mary, Colin, Dickon and the rest of the beloved characters from 'The Secret Garden.' This is the story of what happens next to the people of Misselthwaite Manor. Mary finds another secret, learns more about herself her friends, gets a tutor, nearly succumbs to her parents' fate, and faces a crucial decision or two. Written with the style and heart of the original.

The Forgotten Room

The Forgotten Room


  • Release: 2016-03-01
  • Publisher: Center Point
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 500 page
  • ISBN: 1628998849
GET EBOOK

"A multi-generational novel of love and loss that spans over half a century"--

The Forgotten Room

The Forgotten Room


  • Release: 2010-08-10
  • Publisher: Zonderkidz
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 128 page
  • ISBN: 9780310872344
GET EBOOK

Many secrets come to light when twelve-year-old Dan Pruitt comes across the blueprints to Eckert House. He's certain he's found a hidden room. But when he and his friends set out to find it, they uncover more than a room. What they find will ultimately lead to danger; how will they keep their secret safe and protect themselves too?

The Forgotten Room

The Forgotten Room


  • Release: 2009
  • Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 181 page
  • ISBN: 0739134957
GET EBOOK

This gritty and compelling ethnography examines the darker side of American education through chronicling the course of Peachtree Alternative School's tenth and final year.. It exposes punitive school policy, demonstrates the prison-industrial complex, and reveals school board corruption. In addition, it pinpoints quality teaching of chronically disruptive youth. As ethnographic nonfiction, The Forgotten Room breaks down the walls between social science and literature.

The Forgotten Wife

The Forgotten Wife


  • Release: 2020-01-27
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, page
  • ISBN: 9781838881092
GET EBOOK

‘I just loved this book so much. If I could give it more than 5 stars I would!... I absolutely love the way the story unfolds and the revelations are made. I laughed out loud, I gasped and I sobbed like a small child. Everything you could want from a book and more.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ When you see them, they are so happy, so in love. He’s holding the door open for her, she’s clearly expecting a baby. You think: she has everything I don’t. Everything I ever dreamed of… There’s room in her house where Shelley has shut away a heartbreakingly-soft, never-used baby blanket. In a box, under a bed, behind a door that she never opens. If it’s there, she can forget about it. Just like she has her memories. Of a marriage that hadn’t been perfect. Of a life that didn’t go the way she had hoped. Every day she acts like everything is normal. Going to work and following a routine helps her pretend the bad stuff never happened. Until one day, everything changes. She sees the couple moving in next door, laughing sweetly as they walk up the path to their new home. The woman is pregnant. It’s like she has everything that Shelley has lost. But when Shelley properly meets Lara, she soon discovers Lara is actually carrying a heartache to match her own. As her friendship with Lara deepens, Shelley starts to wonder what might happen if she opens the box she’s hidden away, with the tiny, beautiful blanket in it. Will the secrets from her past – about what she lost, what she’s hiding from, and what she has been doing her best to forget – destroy her? Or will opening it up finally give her a chance to live again? A heartbreaking emotional drama about the power of friendship that will make readers laugh and cry, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Dani Atkins and Daniela Sacerdoti. Readers are loving The Forgotten Wife: ‘Emotional and brilliant at the same time! I have laughed and shouted out loud and cried throughout the book. It is a brilliant rea

The Forgotten Book

The Forgotten Book


  • Release: 2018-01-02
  • Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 336 page
  • ISBN: 9781250146786
GET EBOOK

Emma is used to things going her way. Her father is headmaster of her prestigious boarding school, her friends take her advice as gospel, and she's convinced that a relationship with her long-time crush is on the horizon. As it turns out, Emma hasn't seen anything yet. When she finds an old book in an abandoned library, things really start going Emma's way: anything she writes in the book comes true. But the power of the book is not without consequences, and Emma soon realizes that she isn't the only one who knows about it. Someone is determined to take it from her—and they'll stop at nothing to succeed. A new boy in school—the arrogant, aloof, and irritatingly handsome Darcy de Winter—becomes Emma's unlikely ally as secrets are revealed and danger creeps ever closer.

Death Match

Death Match


  • Release: 2006-10-31
  • Publisher: Anchor
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 416 page
  • ISBN: 0307278522
GET EBOOK

Lewis and Lindsay Thorpe were the perfect couple: young, attractive, and ideally matched. But the veil of perfection can mask many blemishes. When the Thorpes are found dead in their tasteful Flagstaff living room (having committed double suicide), alarms go off in the towering Manhattan offices of Eden Incorporated, the high-tech matchmaking company whose spectacular success, and legendary secrecy, has inspired awe around the world. The Thorpes, few people knew, were more than the quintessential happy couple – they were Eden’s first perfect match. A short time later, Christopher Lash, a gifted former FBI forensic psychologist, receives an urgent plea from Eden to perform a quick – and quiet – investigation into the deaths. Lash’s psychological autopsy reveals nothing suspicious, but inadvertently dredges up the memories of a searing personal tragedy he has kept at bay for years. The situation changes suddenly when a second Eden couple is found dead -- by all appearances, another double suicide. Now Eden – particularly Richard Silver, the company’s brilliant and reclusive founder – has no choice but to grant Lash unprecedented access to its most guarded secrets if he is to have any chance of determining what is going wrong. The hidden world he discovers is a stunning labyrinth of artificial intelligence, creative genius, and a melding of technology that does indeed, to Lash’s surprise, deliver on Eden’s promise to its clients: the guarantee of a perfect, lifelong mate. But Lash’s involvement in the investigation becomes more personal and dangerous than he could have imagined, nearly as soon as it begins. With tremendous imagination and skill, master thriller-writer Lincoln Child renders a setting too frighteningly believable not to be real. Infused with relentless suspense and a riveting pace, DEATH MATCH is Child at his best.

The Forgotten Home Child

The Forgotten Home Child


  • Release: 2020-03-03
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 384 page
  • ISBN: 9781982128951
GET EBOOK

The Home for Unwanted Girls meets Orphan Train in this unforgettable novel about a young girl caught in a scheme to rid England’s streets of destitute children, and the lengths she will go to find her way home—based on the true story of the British Home Children. 2018 At ninety-seven years old, Winnifred Ellis knows she doesn’t have much time left, and it is almost a relief to realize that once she is gone, the truth about her shameful past will die with her. But when her great-grandson Jamie, the spitting image of her dear late husband, asks about his family tree, Winnifred can’t lie any longer, even if it means breaking a promise she made so long ago... 1936 Fifteen-year-old Winny has never known a real home. After running away from an abusive stepfather, she falls in with Mary, Jack, and their ragtag group of friends roaming the streets of Liverpool. When the children are caught stealing food, Winny and Mary are left in Dr. Barnardo’s Barkingside Home for Girls, a local home for orphans and forgotten children found in the city’s slums. At Barkingside, Winny learns she will soon join other boys and girls in a faraway place called Canada, where families and better lives await them. But Winny’s hopes are dashed when she is separated from her friends and sent to live with a family that has no use for another daughter. Instead, they have paid for an indentured servant to work on their farm. Faced with this harsh new reality, Winny clings to the belief that she will someday find her friends again. Inspired by true events, The Forgotten Home Child is a moving and heartbreaking novel about place, belonging, and family—the one we make for ourselves and its enduring power to draw us home.