The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon


  • Release: 2017-04-25
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 320 page
  • ISBN: 9781501157516
GET EBOOK

A frightening suspense novel about nine-year-old Trisha, who becomes lost in the woods as night falls.

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon


  • Release: 1999-07-15
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 224 page
  • ISBN: 9780684835839
GET EBOOK

From international bestseller Stephen King, a classic story that engages our emotions on the most primal level, a fairy tale grimmer than Grimm but aglow with a girl’s indomitable spirit. What if the woods were full of them? And of course they were, the woods were full of everything you didn’t like, everything you were afraid of and instinctively loathed, everything that tried to overwhelm you with nasty, no-brain panic. The brochure promised a “moderate-to-difficult” six-mile hike on the Maine-New Hampshire branch of the Appalachian Trail, where nine-year-old Trisha McFarland was to spend Saturday with her older brother Pete and her recently divorced mother. When she wanders off to escape their constant bickering, then tries to catch up by attempting a shortcut through the woods, Trisha strays deeper into a wilderness full of peril and terror. Especially when night falls. Trisha has only her wits for navigation, only her ingenuity as a defense against the elements, only her courage and faith to withstand her mounting fear. For solace she tunes her Walkman to broadcasts of Boston Red Sox games and the gritty performances of her hero, number thirty-six, relief pitcher Tom Gordon. And when her radio’s reception begins to fade, Trisha imagines that Tom Gordon is with her—her key to surviving an enemy known only by the slaughtered animals and mangled trees in its wake.

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon


  • Release: 2010-03-22
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 300 page
  • ISBN: 9781848940956
GET EBOOK

Tricia is lost in the woods. But she's not alone . . . 'The world has teeth and it could bite you with them anytime it wanted. Trisha McFarland discovered this when she was nine years old. Lost in the woods.' Trisha has only veered a little way off the trail. But in her panic to get back to the path, Trisha takes a turning that leads into the tangled undergrowth. Deeper and deeper in the terrifying woods. At first it's just the bugs, midges and mosquitoes. Then comes the hunger. For comfort she tunes her Walkman into broadcasts of the Red Sox baseball games and the performances of her hero Tom Gordon. As darkness begins to fall, Trisha realises that she is not alone. There's something else in the woods - watching. Waiting . . .

Mal and Chad  Food Fight

Mal and Chad Food Fight


  • Release: 2012-01-19
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 224 page
  • ISBN: 9781101579763
GET EBOOK

In the tradition of Calvin and Hobbes, MAL AND CHAD is a funny comic-strip graphic novel that makes a perfect first chapter book! Mal is a kid genius with a talking dog . . . so why doesn't anyone seem to notice him? Poor Mal. It's not easy being a kid genius who wears a lab coat to school ("It's not a bathrobe!"). Megan, his not-so-secret crush, has formed a club that has a no-boys-allowed policy - especially not Mal, who would do anything to feel like he belongs. Fortunately, Mal always has Chad, his talking dog. When Chad begins having scary dreams, Mal builds a dream portal to defeat Chad's nightmare beast once and for all. Something goes wrong, though, and the beast follows Mal back to reality. Now Megan and her friends are in danger . . . but Mal is there to come to the rescue, showing that, just maybe, he's someone to pay attention to. With kid-friendly humor and a deft touch, Stephen McCranie continues his breakthrough series perfect for any kid who's one book away from either Big Nate or Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

The Little Girl who was Too Fond of Matches

The Little Girl who was Too Fond of Matches


  • Release: 2001
  • Publisher: Arcade Publishing
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 138 page
  • ISBN: 1559705884
GET EBOOK

Two children grow up alone with their authoritarian father on an isolated estate, speaking a language and inhabiting a surreal universe of their own creation, until the death of their father brings them into contact with the outside world.

A Trick of Light

A Trick of Light


  • Release: 2019-09-17
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 352 page
  • ISBN: 9780358117643
GET EBOOK

From Stan Lee, the pop culture legend behind Marvel’s The Avengers™, Black Panther™, X-Men™, Spider-Man™, The Fantastic Four™, and Iron Man™, comes a major literary event featuring two heroic teenagers—one born with extraordinary gifts, one unwillingly transformed. Together they can change the world . . . or put it in the destructive hands of a danger beyond imagination. Set in Stan Lee’s Alliances Universe, co-created by Lee, Luke Lieberman, and Ryan Silbert, and along with Edgar Award–nominated co-writer Kat Rosenfield, Stan Lee delivers a novel packed with the pulse-pounding, breakneck adventure and the sheer exuberant invention that have defined his career as the creative mastermind behind Marvel’s spectacular universe. “Leave it to Stan Lee to save his very best for last. A Trick of Light is as heartfelt and emotional as it is original and exciting. What a movie this one will make.”—James Patterson “For lovers of Stan Lee this is nothing short of a publishing event! (And, honestly, who the hell doesn’t love Stan Lee?) Beguiling, cinematic, operatic, A Trick of Light is a bracing espresso first thing in the morning and the thrum of a familiar love deep at night.”—Gary Shteyngart, author of Absurdistan and Lake Success

Stephen King Goes to the Movies

Stephen King Goes to the Movies


  • Release: 2009-01-20
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 626 page
  • ISBN: 9781416592365
GET EBOOK

A collection of five short stories that have been made into movies includes "The Mangler," in which a skeptical writer investigates a supposedly haunted hotel room that has apparently caused at least forty-two deaths.

Down the Rabbit Hole

Down the Rabbit Hole


  • Release: 2009-03-31
  • Publisher: Harper Collins
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 448 page
  • ISBN: 0061891290
GET EBOOK

"My all-time favorite. Astonishing." (Stephen King) Down the Rabbit Hole is the first book in the Echo Falls mystery series by bestselling crime novelist Peter Abrahams. Perfect for middle school readers looking for a good mystery. Welcome to Echo Falls, home of a thousand secrets. In Down the Rabbit Hole, eighth grader Ingrid Levin-Hill is in the wrong place at the wrong time. Or at least her shoes are. And getting them back will mean getting tangled up in a murder investigation as complicated as the mysteries solved by her idol, Sherlock Holmes. With soccer practice, schoolwork, and the lead role in her town's production of Alice in Wonderland, Ingrid is swamped. But as things in Echo Falls keep getting curiouser and curiouser, Ingrid realizes she must solve the murder on her own—before it's too late. "Deft use of literary allusions and ironic humor add further touches of class to a topnotch mystery," said School Library Journal. "Intriguing twists." Publishers Weekly agreed: "The fresh dialogue and believable small-town setting will tempt fans to visit Echo Falls again." The next book in this Edgar Award-nominated series in Behind the Curtain, followed by Into the Dark.

Faithful

Faithful


  • Release: 2005-09-06
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 464 page
  • ISBN: 9780743267533
GET EBOOK

A chronicle of the Boston Red Sox's 2004 baseball season features a running diary of observations, arguments, play analyses, and controversial management decisions, as recorded by a pair of best-selling horror writers and diehard Red Sox fans.

Blaze

Blaze


  • Release: 2007
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 285 page
  • ISBN: 9781416554844
GET EBOOK

Richard Bachman was Stephen Kings other writing name for his non-supernatural work before he finally hit it big with "Carrie." The manuscript of "Blaze" sat in a university library until King rewrote it decades later.