The Glass Castle

The Glass Castle


  • Release: 2006-01-02
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 368 page
  • ISBN: 9781416544661
GET EBOOK

Journalist Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary and their four children lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary painted and wrote and couldn't stand the responsibility of providing for her family. When the money ran out, the Walls retreated to the dismal West Virginia mining town Rex had tried to escape. As the dysfunction escalated, the children had to fend for themselves, supporting one another as they found the resources and will to leave home. Yet Walls describes her parents with deep affection in this tale of unconditional love in a family that, despite its profound flaws, gave her the fiery determination to carve out a successful life. -- From publisher description.

The Glass Castle

The Glass Castle


  • Release: 2006-12-15
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 304 page
  • ISBN: 1416550607
GET EBOOK

Now a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Brie Larson, Woody Harrelson, and Naomi Watts. MORE THAN SEVEN YEARS ON THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST The perennially bestselling, extraordinary, one-of-a-kind, “nothing short of spectacular” (Entertainment Weekly) memoir from one of the world’s most gifted storytellers. The Glass Castle is a remarkable memoir of resilience and redemption, and a revelatory look into a family at once deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant. When sober, Jeannette’s brilliant and charismatic father captured his children’s imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishonest and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea of domesticity and didn’t want the responsibility of raising a family. The Walls children learned to take care of themselves. They fed, clothed, and protected one another, and eventually found their way to New York. Their parents followed them, choosing to be homeless even as their children prospered. The Glass Castle is truly astonishing—a memoir permeated by the intense love of a peculiar but loyal family.

The Glass Castle

The Glass Castle


  • Release: 2005-03-01
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 288 page
  • ISBN: 9780743247535
GET EBOOK

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.

Address Book

Address Book


  • Release: 2017-09-05
  • Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 112 page
  • ISBN: 1976089107
GET EBOOK

Address Book Size 6" x 9" Over 300 Sections To Record Contact Details. Glossy And Soft Cover, Large Print, Font, 6" x 9" For Contacts, Addresses, Phone Numbers, Emails, Birthday And More.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle

We Have Always Lived in the Castle


  • Release: 2016-01-05
  • Publisher: New Canadian Library
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 124 page
  • ISBN: 9781551999524
GET EBOOK

The final novel from one of the twentieth century’s greatest writers. Most of the Blackwoods are dead. They were poisoned by arsenic, and the suspected murderer – Constance Blackwood – still lives in their family estate. In fact, she never leaves. Nor does her Uncle Julian, who is confined to a wheelchair. The only person to leave the house is her sister, the third remaining Blackwood, Merricat, and even she keeps her visits to town to a minimum. The townsfolk don’t like the Blackwoods; understandable, when one of them could be a mass murderer. Constance, Merricat, and Julian maintain a semblance of a normal, if highly reclusive, life, aided – if Merricat is to be believed – by several magical wards and charm. But when one of these charms is disrupted, her estranged cousin Charles turns up for a visit, and threatens to throw the Blackwoods’ fragile peace into chaos. Penguin Random House Canada is proud to bring you classic works of literature in e-book form, with the highest quality production values. Find more today and rediscover books you never knew you loved.

The Silver Star

The Silver Star


  • Release: 2013-06-06
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 288 page
  • ISBN: 9781471129100
GET EBOOK

A stunning, heartbreaking novel about an intrepid girl who challenges the injustice of the adult world - a triumph of imagination and storytelling. It is 1970. 'Bean' Holladay is twelve and her sister Liz fifteen when their artistic mother Charlotte, a woman who 'flees every place she's ever lived at the first sign of trouble', takes off to 'find herself'. She leaves the girls enough money for food to last a month or two. But when Bean gets home from school one day and sees a police car outside the house, she and Liz board a bus from California to Virginia, where their widowed Uncle Tinsley lives in the decaying antebellum mansion that has been in the family for generations. An impetuous optimist, Bean discovers who her father was and learns many stories about why their mother left Virginia in the first place. Money is tight, so Liz and Bean start babysitting and doing office work for Jerry Madox, foreman of the mill in town, a big man who bullies workers, tenants and his wife. Bean adores her whip-smart older sister, inventor of word games, reader of Edgar Allan Poe, non-conformist. But when school starts in the autumn, it is Bean who easily adjusts and makes friends, and Liz who becomes increasingly withdrawn. And then something happens between Liz and Maddox... 'Tragic and comic at the same time... an outrageous story, one that will break your heart' Sunday Independent 'There isn't a shred of self-pity in this deeply compassionate book' Marie Claire ***Half Broke Horses (S&S, 2009) 'Has immense power and readibility... What it does with aplomb is to track the birth of a nation: the conjuring of modern America from a scorched, dusty wasteland' The Times

Address Book

Address Book


  • Release: 2017-11-17
  • Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 112 page
  • ISBN: 1979803390
GET EBOOK

Address Book Size 6" x 9" Over 300 Sections To Record Contact Details. Glossy And Soft Cover, Large Print, Font, 6" x 9" For Contacts, Addresses, Phone Numbers, Emails, Birthday And More.

The Book You Were Born to Write

The Book You Were Born to Write


  • Release: 2020-09-15
  • Publisher: Hay House
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 296 page
  • ISBN: 9781401955625
GET EBOOK

Publishing a book has never been so simple, accessible, or affordable as it is today. So why are so many thought leaders, healers, and change-agents stuck at the starting line? This book will light the way, offering a simple step-by-step path that takes authors from concept to finished book. In it, publishing veteran Kelly Notaras demystifies the publishing process and gives writers the tools, insider information, and inspiration to start strong, keep going, and get across the finish line as quickly as possible.

All Over But the Shoutin

All Over But the Shoutin


  • Release: 2008-06-26
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 329 page
  • ISBN: 1435211839
GET EBOOK

A correspondent for "The New York Times" recounts growing up in the Alabama hills, the son of a violent veteran and a mother who tried to insulate her children from poverty and ignorance

The Glass Menagerie

The Glass Menagerie


  • Release: 2009-07-01
  • Publisher: Everbind
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, page
  • ISBN: 0784818878
GET EBOOK

New Directions Edition; Among our greatest dramatic works that also makes for great student reading.