The Muralist

The Muralist


  • Release: 2015-11-03
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 352 page
  • ISBN: 9781443446631
GET EBOOK

From the author of the New York Times bestseller The Art Forger comes a thrilling new novel of art, history, love and politics that traces the life and mysterious disappearance of a brilliant young artist on the eve of World War II—perfect for readers of The Paris Wife, The White Russian and All the Light We Cannot See In 1940, American painter Alizee Benoit vanishes in New York City amid personal and political turmoil. No one knows what happened to her. Not her Jewish family living in German-occupied France. Not her artistic patron and political compatriot, Eleanor Roosevelt. Not her close-knit group of friends, including Mark Rothko, Jackson Pollock and Lee Krasner. And, some seventy years later, not her great-niece, Danielle Abrams, who while working at Christie’s auction house uncovers enigmatic paintings hidden behind recently found works by those now-famous Abstract Expressionist artists. Do they hold answers to the questions surrounding her missing aunt? Entwining the lives of both historical and fictional characters, and moving between the past and the present, The Muralist plunges readers into the divisiveness of prewar politics and the largely forgotten plight of European refugees refused entrance to the United States. It captures both the inner workings of today’s art world and the beginnings of the vibrant school of Abstract Expressionism, bringing to life two unforgettable women and forcing us to ask timeless, provocative questions: What happens when luminous talent collides with inexorable historical forces? Does great art have the power to change the world? And to what lengths should a person go to thwart evil? “B.A. Shapiro once again pens the art world into vivid, sensual life. . . . An intriguing story masterfully imagined about art, war, family, truth, and freedom.” —Lisa Genova, New York Times–bestselling author of Love, Anthony

The Muralist

The Muralist


  • Release: 2016-10-11
  • Publisher: Algonquin Books
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 368 page
  • ISBN: 9781616206437
GET EBOOK

Don't miss B. A. Shapiro's new novel, The Collector's Apprentice, available now! “Vibrant and suspenseful . . . Like The Art Forger, this new story takes us into the heart of what it means to be an artist.” —The Washington Post “B. A. Shapiro captivated us in 2012 with her ‘addictive’ novel The Art Forger. Now, she’s back with another thrilling tale from the art world.” —Entertainment Weekly When Alizée Benoit, an American painter working for the Works Progress Administration (WPA), vanishes in New York City in 1940, no one knows what happened to her. Not her Jewish family living in German-occupied France. Not her artistic patron and political compatriot, Eleanor Roosevelt. Not her close-knit group of friends, including Mark Rothko, Jackson Pollock, and Lee Krasner. And, some seventy years later, not her great-niece, Danielle Abrams, who while working at Christie’s auction house uncovers enigmatic paintings hidden behind works by those now-famous Abstract Expressionist artists. Do they hold answers to the questions surrounding her missing aunt?

The Muralist

The Muralist


  • Release: 2015-11-03
  • Publisher: Algonquin Books
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 352 page
  • ISBN: 9781616205409
GET EBOOK

Don't miss B. A. Shapiro's new novel, The Collector's Apprentice, available now! “Vibrant and suspenseful . . . Like The Art Forger, this new story takes us into the heart of what it means to be an artist.” —The Washington Post “B. A. Shapiro captivated us in 2012 with her ‘addictive’ novel The Art Forger. Now, she’s back with another thrilling tale from the art world.” —Entertainment Weekly When Alizée Benoit, an American painter working for the Works Progress Administration (WPA), vanishes in New York City in 1940, no one knows what happened to her. Not her Jewish family living in German-occupied France. Not her artistic patron and political compatriot, Eleanor Roosevelt. Not her close-knit group of friends, including Mark Rothko, Jackson Pollock, and Lee Krasner. And, some seventy years later, not her great-niece, Danielle Abrams, who while working at Christie’s auction house uncovers enigmatic paintings hidden behind works by those now-famous Abstract Expressionist artists. Do they hold answers to the questions surrounding her missing aunt?

The Art Forger

The Art Forger


  • Release: 2012-10-23
  • Publisher: Harper Collins
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 368 page
  • ISBN: 9781443418058
GET EBOOK

On March 18, 1990, thirteen works of art (worth over $500 million today) were stolen from the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston. It remains the largest unsolved art heist in history, and Claire Roth, a struggling young artist, is about to discover that there’s more to this crime than meets the eye. Making a living reproducing famous artworks for a popular online retailer and desperate to improve her situation, Claire is lured into a Faustian bargain with Aiden Markel, a powerful gallery owner. She agrees to forge a painting—a Degas masterpiece stolen from the Gardner Museum—in exchange for a one-woman show in his renowned gallery. But when that very same long-missing Degas painting is delivered to Claire’s studio, she begins to suspect that it may itself be a forgery. Her desperate search for the truth leads Claire into a labyrinth of deceit where secrets hidden since the late 19th century may be the only evidence that can now save her life.

Walls of Light

Walls of Light


  • Release: 1999
  • Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 117 page
  • ISBN: 1578061288
GET EBOOK

Although his art took form in many mediums, this lush and colorful book focuses on Walter Anderson's murals, further expanding our understanding of the life work of this richly complex artist. 84 full-color photos. 20 illustrations.

Edwin Howland Blashfield

Edwin Howland Blashfield


  • Release: 2009
  • Publisher: W W Norton & Company Incorporated
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 160 page
  • ISBN: UCSD:31822037386984
GET EBOOK

Evaluates the career of the esteemed muralist and his advocacy of the classic tradition, drawing on new scholarship to pay tribute to his contributions in numerous civic spaces and lasting influence on American public art.

Murals of New York City

Murals of New York City


  • Release: 2020-03
  • Publisher: Rizzoli International Publications
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 228 page
  • ISBN: 9780847868063
GET EBOOK

If all of the murals of New York City were under one roof, it would be the greatest collection of populist art in America. MURALS OF NEW YORK CITY is the first book to curate over thirty of the most important, influential, and impressive murals found within all five boroughs. The murals featured in this volume act as both an artistic and cultural guide to New York and its citizens over the past 100+ years--from the Victorian sensibilities of the 1900's, to the New Deal outlook of the WPA-commissioned artworks, to the graffiti-inflected art of Keith Haring and Barry McGee. The book enlightens readers with the lively back stories of those who commissioned and created these murals, and documents the works through extensive original photography that shows both the murals in context, and with details that highlight the artistic hand of the muralists. From courthouses, to libraries, to schoolrooms, to classic hotel watering holes, MURALS OF NEW YORK CITY introduces readers to a wide range of cultural icons and artistic treasures. Full-color images of works by the world's most celebrated artists including Marc Chagall, Roy Lichtenstein, Maxfield Parrish, and more are accompanied by informative and historical commentary. MURALS OF NEW YORK CITY is perfect for art and architecture lovers and serves as a resource for New Yorkers, and a souvenir for the millions of tourists who visit the city every year. The book contains addresses and historical information on each mural, artist, and location, including the circumstances in which they were created, restored, and preserved.

The Collector s Apprentice

The Collector s Apprentice


  • Release: 2018-10-16
  • Publisher: Algonquin Books
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 352 page
  • ISBN: 9781616208851
GET EBOOK

"A clever and complex tale of art fraud, theft, scandal, murder, and revenge.” --Publishers Weekly In this surprising, noirish page-turner, B. A. Shapiro once again takes readers into the world of art, glamour, and mystery. Accused of helping her fiancé steal her family’s fortune and her father’s art collection, Paulien Mertens has fled to France. To protect herself from the law and the wrath of those who lost everything, she has created a new identity. Paulien, aka Vivienne, takes a position working for an American art collector modeled after real-life eccentric museum founder Albert Barnes and quickly becomes caught up in the 1920s Paris of artists and expats, including post-Impressionist painter Henri Matisse and writer Gertrude Stein. From there, she sets out to recover her father’s art collection, prove her innocence, and exact revenge on her ex-fiancé. B. A. Shapiro has made the historical art thriller her own, and once again she gives us an unforgettable tale about what we see—and what we refuse to see.

Painting on the Left

Painting on the Left


  • Release: 1999-04-15
  • Publisher: Univ of California Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 264 page
  • ISBN: 9780520219779
GET EBOOK

During the 1930s San Francisco's most ambitious public murals were painted by artists on the left. In this study, Anthony Lee shows how these painters, led by Diego Rivera, sought to transform murals into a vehicle for their rejection of the economic and political status quo and their support of labor and radical ideologies, including Communism. In addressing these subjects, the mural painters developed a new imagery, based on the activities of the city's laboring population - its efforts to organize, its protests, its strikes.