The Reader

The Reader


  • Release: 2001-05-01
  • Publisher: Vintage
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 224 page
  • ISBN: 0375726977
GET EBOOK

Hailed for its coiled eroticism and the moral claims it makes upon the reader, this mesmerizing novel is a story of love and secrets, horror and compassion, unfolding against the haunted landscape of postwar Germany. When he falls ill on his way home from school, fifteen-year-old Michael Berg is rescued by Hanna, a woman twice his age. In time she becomes his lover—then she inexplicably disappears. When Michael next sees her, he is a young law student, and she is on trial for a hideous crime. As he watches her refuse to defend her innocence, Michael gradually realizes that Hanna may be guarding a secret she considers more shameful than murder.

The Reader

The Reader


  • Release: 1998
  • Publisher: Vintage
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 218 page
  • ISBN: 9780375707971
GET EBOOK

At the age of fifteen, Michael Berg falls in love with a woman who disappears, and while observing a trial as a law student years later, he is shocked to discover the same woman as the defendant in a horrible crime

The Reader

The Reader


  • Release: 2011-09-01
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 224 page
  • ISBN: 9781780221434
GET EBOOK

An exceptionally powerful novel exploring the themes of betrayal, guilt and memory against the background of the Holocaust. An international bestseller. For 15-year-old Michael Berg, a chance meeting with an older woman leads to far more than he ever imagined. The woman in question is Hanna, and before long they embark on a passionate, clandestine love affair which leaves Michael both euphoric and confused. For Hanna is not all she seems. Years later, as a law student observing a trial in Germany, Michael is shocked to realize that the person in the dock is Hanna. The woman he had loved is a criminal. Much about her behaviour during the trial does not make sense. But then suddenly, and terribly, it does - Hanna is not only obliged to answer for a horrible crime, she is also desperately concealing an even deeper secret. 'A tender, horrifying novel that shows blazingly well how the Holocaust should be dealt with in fiction' INDEPENDENT 'For generations to come, people will be reading and marvelling over Bernhard Schlink's The Reader' EVENING STANDARD 'Leaps national boundaries and speaks straight to the heart' NEW YORK TIMES

The Reader

The Reader


  • Release: 1907
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, page
  • ISBN: IND:30000047524693
GET EBOOK

The Reader

The Reader


  • Release: 2016-09-13
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 464 page
  • ISBN: 9780698410626
GET EBOOK

Instant New York Times Bestseller A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible. With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent. From the Hardcover edition.

The Role of the Reader

The Role of the Reader


  • Release: 1984
  • Publisher: Indiana University Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 273 page
  • ISBN: 025320318X
GET EBOOK

" . . . not merely interesting and novel, but also exceedingly provocative and heuristically fertile." --The Review of Metaphysics " . . . essential reading for anyone interesting in . . . the new reader-centered forms of criticism." --Library Journal In this erudite and imaginative book, Umberto Eco sets forth a dialectic between 'open' and 'closed' texts.