The Wicked Girls

The Wicked Girls


  • Release: 2013-07-30
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 384 page
  • ISBN: 9781101618356
GET EBOOK

“The suspense keeps the pages flying, but what sets this one apart is the palpable sense of onrushing doom.” —Stephen King, “The Best Books I Read This Year” The Edgar Award-winning psychological thriller that asks the question: how well can you truly know anyone? On a fateful summer morning in 1986, two eleven-year-old girls meet for the first time. By the end of the day, they will both be charged with murder. Twenty-five years later, journalist Kirsty Lindsay is reporting on a series of sickening attacks on young female tourists in a seaside vacation town when her investigation leads her to interview carnival cleaner Amber Gordon. For Kirsty and Amber, it’s the first time they’ve seen each other since that dark day so many years ago. Now with new, vastly different lives—and unknowing families to protect—will they really be able to keep their wicked secret hidden? Gripping and fast-paced, with an ending that will stay with you long after you’ve read it, The Wicked Girls takes you to a thrillingly dark place you’ve never been before. For fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Tana French. “The Wicked Girls is ingenious and original. Real, chilling, true to its world and its characters. In short, a knock-out.” —Laura Lippman, New York Times bestselling author of And When She Was Good and What the Dead Know

Wicked Girls

Wicked Girls


  • Release: 2010-06-29
  • Publisher: Harper Collins
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 432 page
  • ISBN: 9780062003195
GET EBOOK

From the acclaimed Printz Honor winner author Stephanie Hemphill comes this powerful fictionalized account of the Salem witch trials from the point of view of three of the real young women living in Salem in 1692. Ann Putnam Jr. is the queen bee. When her father suggests a spate of illnesses in the village is the result of witchcraft, she puts in motion a chain of events that will change Salem forever. Mercy Lewis is the beautiful servant in Ann's house who inspires adulation in some and envy in others. With her troubled past, she seizes her only chance at safety. Margaret Walcott, Ann's cousin, is desperately in love. She is torn between staying loyal to her friends and pursuing a life with her betrothed. With new accusations mounting against the men and women of the community, the girls will have to decide: Is it too late to tell the truth?

The Girls

The Girls


  • Release: 2011-10-27
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 352 page
  • ISBN: 9781405512947
GET EBOOK

I have never looked into my sister's eyes. I have never bathed alone. I have never stood in the grass at night and raised my arms to a beguiling moon. I've never used an aeroplane bathroom. Or worn a hat. Or been kissed like that... So many things I've never done, but oh, how I've been loved. And, if such things were to be, I'd live a thousand times as me, to be loved so exponentially' In twenty-nine years, Rose Darlen has never spent a moment apart from her twin sister, Ruby. She has never gone for a solitary walk or had a private conversation. Yet, in all that time, she has never once looked into Ruby's eyes. Joined at the head, 'The Girls' (as they are known in their small town) attempt to lead a normal life, but can't help being extraordinary. Now almost thirty, Rose and Ruby are on the verge of becoming the oldest living craniopagus twins in history, but they are remarkable for a lot more than their unusual sisterly bond.

All the Wicked Girls

All the Wicked Girls


  • Release: 2017-09-27
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 435 page
  • ISBN: 1785763792
GET EBOOK

The outstanding new crime thriller from the highly acclaimed author of Tall Oaks

Children of Chicago

Children of Chicago


  • Release: 2021-02-09
  • Publisher: Polis Books
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 232 page
  • ISBN: 9781951709433
GET EBOOK

ONE OF THE "MOST ANTICIPATED CRIME BOOKS OF 2021"—CrimeReads ONE OF THE "MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASES OF 2021"—Book Riot ONE OF "2021'S MOST ANTICIPATED NEW RELEASES"—Books in The Freezer This horrifying retelling of the Pied Piper fairytale set in present-day Chicago is an edge of your seat, chills up the spine, thrill ride. ‪ When Detective Lauren Medina sees the calling card at a murder scene in Chicago’s Humboldt Park neighborhood, she knows the Pied Piper has returned. When another teenager is brutally murdered at the same lagoon where her sister’s body was found floating years before, she is certain that the Pied Piper is not just back, he’s looking for payment he’s owed from her. Lauren’s torn between protecting the city she has sworn to keep safe, and keeping a promise she made long ago with her sister’s murderer. She may have to ruin her life by exposing her secrets and lies to stop the Pied Piper before he collects.

The Poison Garden

The Poison Garden


  • Release: 2020-01-14
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 400 page
  • ISBN: 9781101992692
GET EBOOK

A new novel of insidious secrets and chilling revelations surrounding a mysterious cult--the latest gripping psychological thriller from Alex Marwood When nearly one hundred members of The Ark, a sinister apocalypse cult are found dead by poison at their isolated community in North Wales, those left alive are scattered to the winds with few coping skills and fewer answers. For twenty-three-year-old Romy, who has never known life outside the compound, learning how to live in a world she has been taught to fear is terrifying. Now Romy must start a new life for herself--and the child growing inside her. She is determined to find the rest of her family and keep her baby safe, no matter the cost. But as the horrors of her past start to resurface, she realizes that leaving her old life behind won't be easy. Outside the walls of The Ark, the real evil has only just begun. A brilliantly plotted, page-turning novel from "one of psychological suspense's best writers" (The Boston Globe), The Poison Garden will leave you stunned.

The Killer Next Door

The Killer Next Door


  • Release: 2014-10-28
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 400 page
  • ISBN: 9780698177826
GET EBOOK

“The Killer Next Door is even better [than The Wicked Girls]. Scary as hell. Great characters.” —Stephen King Winner of the Macavity Award for Best Mystery Novel and nominated for the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Original Everyone who lives at 23 Beulah Grove has a secret. If they didn’t, they wouldn’t be renting rooms in a sketchy South London building for cash—no credit check, no lease. It’s the kind of place you end up when you you’ve run out of other options. The six residents mostly keep to themselves, but one unbearably hot summer night, a terrible accident pushes them into an uneasy alliance. What they don’t know is that one of them is a killer. He’s already chosen his next victim, and he’ll do anything to protect his secret. Alex Marwood’s debut novel The Wicked Girls earned her lavish praise from the likes of Elizabeth Haynes, Laura Lippman, and Erin Kelly and received the Edgar Award. Now, Marwood’s back with a brilliant, tightly paced thriller that will keep you up at night and make you ask yourself: just how well do you know your neighbors? “Taut, assured and reminiscent of Ruth Rendell's psychological novels, Marwood's second book more than lives up to the promise shown in her splendid debut, The Wicked Girls.” —The Guardian

Angela Carter s Book Of Wayward Girls And Wicked Women

Angela Carter s Book Of Wayward Girls And Wicked Women


  • Release: 2015-11-05
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 416 page
  • ISBN: 9780349008110
GET EBOOK

This bestselling collection of stories extols the female virtues of discontent, sexual disruptiveness and bad manners Here are subversive tales - by Ama Ata Aidoo, Jane Bowles, Angela Carter, Colette, Bessie Head, Jamaica Kincaid and Katherine Mansfield among others - all have one thing in common: the wish to restore adventuresses and revolutionaries to their rightful position as models for all women Reflecting the wide-ranging intelligence and deliciously anarchic taste of Angela Carter, some of these stories celebrate toughness and resilience, some of them low cunning: all of them are about not being nice.

Good Girls   Wicked Witches

Good Girls Wicked Witches


  • Release: 2007-02-20
  • Publisher: Indiana University Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 280 page
  • ISBN: 9780861969012
GET EBOOK

An in-depth view of the way popular female stereotypes were reflected in—and were shaped by—the portrayal of women in Disney’s animated features. In Good Girls and Wicked Witches, Amy M. Davis re-examines the notion that Disney heroines are rewarded for passivity. Davis proceeds from the assumption that, in their representations of femininity, Disney films both reflected and helped shape the attitudes of the wider society, both at the time of their first release and subsequently. Analyzing the construction of (mainly human) female characters in the animated films of the Walt Disney Studio between 1937 and 2001, she attempts to establish the extent to which these characterizations were shaped by wider popular stereotypes. Davis argues that it is within the most constructed of all moving images of the female form—the heroine of the animated film—that the most telling aspects of Woman as the subject of Hollywood iconography and cultural ideas of American womanhood are to be found. “A fascinating compilation of essays in which [Davis] examined the way Disney has treated female characters throughout its history.” —PopMatters

The Wicked Deep

The Wicked Deep


  • Release: 2019-04-02
  • Publisher: Simon Pulse
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 320 page
  • ISBN: 9781481497350
GET EBOOK

A New York Times bestseller. “A wickedly chilling debut.” —School Library Journal “Complex and sweetly satisfying.” —Booklist “Prepare to be bewitched.” —Paula Stokes, author of Girl Against the Universe “A story about the redemptive power of love.” —Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be “Eerie and enchanting.” —Jessica Spotswood, author of The Cahill Witch Chronicles Hocus Pocus and Practical Magic meets the Salem Witch trials in this haunting story about three sisters on a quest for revenge—and how love may be the only thing powerful enough to stop them. Welcome to the cursed town of Sparrow… Where, two centuries ago, three sisters were sentenced to death for witchery. Stones were tied to their ankles and they were drowned in the deep waters surrounding the town. Now, for a brief time each summer, the sisters return, stealing the bodies of three weak-hearted girls so that they may seek their revenge, luring boys into the harbor and pulling them under. Like many locals, seventeen-year-old Penny Talbot has accepted the fate of the town. But this year, on the eve of the sisters’ return, a boy named Bo Carter arrives; unaware of the danger he has just stumbled into. Mistrust and lies spread quickly through the salty, rain-soaked streets. The townspeople turn against one another. Penny and Bo suspect each other of hiding secrets. And death comes swiftly to those who cannot resist the call of the sisters. But only Penny sees what others cannot. And she will be forced to choose: save Bo, or save herself.