Professional Care of the Racehorse

Professional Care of the Racehorse


  • Release: 2006
  • Publisher: Eclipse Press
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 303 page
  • ISBN: 1581501358
GET EBOOK

This comprehensive manual provides instructions on all aspects of racehorse care. Photographs and explanatory text detail procedures for everything from cleaning a stall to feeding to grooming and bathing. In addition, the book describes how to detect signs of illness and lameness in the racehorse. Professional Care of the Racehorse is intended for all people who work with horses.

Eleanor and the Iron King

Eleanor and the Iron King


  • Release: 2015
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 202 page
  • ISBN: 1680472372
GET EBOOK

In 12th century Wales, Eleanor de Lacy is forced to become the wife of the infamous Welsh King Brach Goch. Resigned to a life of misery and receiving an ominous warning from the uneasy spirit of Brach's first wife that he is not to be trusted, Eleanor soon realizes all is not as it seems. Is Brach the monster she dreaded? Or is he a handsome and charming man whose gentle ways soon undermine her resolve to lock her heart?

Counting by 7s

Counting by 7s


  • Release: 2013-08-29
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 400 page
  • ISBN: 9781101591352
GET EBOOK

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family. Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now. Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read. “Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget.”—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back "Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons "In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that’s a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Where’d You Go, Bernadette

From Ash and Stone

From Ash and Stone


  • Release: 2018
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 225 page
  • ISBN: 1524407461
GET EBOOK

Lady Margaret Grey of Hartfell wants for nothing. The daughter of a knight, she has a loving family, wealth, and even a secret romance with the blacksmith's son. But all that is torn from her one fateful night when her home is attacked and her family killed. She is left with nothing but bitterness, an unwavering mistrust of men, and a strange and mysterious curse that allows her to feel the thoughts of anyone who touches her. Now, after six years away, Margaret is returning home for one reason: revenge. She hopes that by avenging her family's deaths, she will somehow be freed from her curse. But it won't be easy. The identities of the raiders are still unknown, she has little left to her name, and traveling alone in the Northumbrian hills during the border wars is dangerous. Matters are further complicated by handsome Angus Robson, a Scotsman whose charm threatens to distract her from her plans. But the raiders are closer than she knows, and Margaret soon realizes that what she believed to be a curse may be the key to finding those she seeks. One touch will reveal the truth.

Chance Harbor

Chance Harbor


  • Release: 2015-10-06
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 400 page
  • ISBN: 9780698170650
GET EBOOK

From the acclaimed author of Beach Plum Island and The Wishing Hill... "No one does it better than Holly Robinson.”—Susan Straight, National Book Award Finalist and Author of Between Heaven and Here Catherine and Zoe are sisters, but even their mother, Eve, admits her daughters are nothing alike. Catherine is calm and responsible. Zoe is passionate and rebellious. Nobody is surprised when Zoe gets pregnant, drops out of college, and spirals into drug addiction. One night Catherine gets a call from Zoe’s terrified daughter, Willow, saying her mother has abandoned her in a bus station and disappeared. Eve blames herself, while Catherine, unable to have children, is delighted to raise Willow as her own. Now, five years later, Eve is grieving her husband’s death and making reluctant plans to sell the family’s beloved summer home on Prince Edward Island. But a series of unexpected revelations will upend the family and rock three generations of women. CONVERSATION GUIDE INCLUDED

A Blind Eye

A Blind Eye


  • Release: 2013
  • Publisher: Covenant Communications
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 163 page
  • ISBN: 1621082520
GET EBOOK

In a twist of fate, young Christian Morris's plans take a drastic detour in the form of a beautiful and frightened girl. Scarlett, a blind British teenager, suddenly appears in his life after escaping from her murderous kidnappers. Determined to protect Scarlett, whatever the price, Christian embarks on a dangerous course as he fights to keep her alive.

Finding Anne de Bourgh

Finding Anne de Bourgh


  • Release: 2019
  • Publisher:
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 274 page
  • ISBN: 1524408336
GET EBOOK

As heiress of Rosings Park, Anne de Bourgh's health is of utmost importance to her mother, Lady Catherine de Bourgh. Thus, following a recent fire at Rosings Park, the young woman is spirited away to Brighton to take the cure. While there, Anne becomes acquainted with Mr. Owen Talbot, a charming man with whom Anne feels an immediate connection, notwithstanding their differing stations. However, despite their growing esteem for one another, Anne's mother has set her sights on a rich, well-connected man for her daughter. With their love in jeopardy, the couple soon faces an even graver problem. There has been a murder in Brighton, and Anne is innocently drawn into an amateur investigation that ultimately traces its roots to her own family. With a frightening foreshadowing regarding the de Bourghs, Anne begins to question whom she can really trust.--Adapted from publisher description.

Willow

Willow


  • Release: 2010-02-23
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Price: FREE
  • File: PDF, 336 page
  • ISBN: 1101195770
GET EBOOK

Seven months ago, on a rainy March night, sixteen-year- old Willow's parents drank too much wine and asked her to drive them home. They never made it. Willow lost control of the car and her parents died in the accident. Now she has left behind her old home, friends, and school, and blocks the pain by secretly cutting herself. But when Willow meets Guy, a boy as sensitive and complicated as she is, she begins an intense, life-changing relationship that turns her world upside down. Told in an arresting, fresh voice, Willow is an unforgettable novel about one girl's struggle to cope with tragedy, and one boy's refusal to give up on her.